Estelea's Blog

French Mum, humanitarian, restless explorer and doer on sabbatical in Cebu (Philippines): one Attila in each arm, I am exploring the “toddlers safe” corners of the region, while trying to keep some room for Me.

Good things come to those who wait, but better things…

do

Good things come to those who wait“. This sentence used to make me smile. Yeah, sure. I have always been more into believing “quien espera desespera” (litteraly: the one who waits will dispair).

Doesn’t it sound like a quote for losers to you? It’s ok to wait, things happen for a reason, keep calm and dream on..

In all my appraisals, one word would always stand out :“impatient”. If not this one, it would be “impulsive”. Live with it, this is me, a typical ENSP, aquarius, who believes that if it is made for you, it should happen now. Period.

Would have been Me! Totally Me :)

Would have been Me! Totally Me 🙂

I don’t believe people dramatically change. They learn and soften, for the best part of us. So I did I .. and as usual, it’s love that paved the way to a little bit of (well needed) patience.

When your job takes you to radically different places every year, it is quite challenging to invest time and energy in a decent relationship. You see life in fast forward, can not make plans as you don’t know where the next mission will take you, and before you know it, you turn 30 and become some kind of wild Bridget Jones. A more muscular and tanned one, but still, a Bridget!

It was one those classic Saturday of all night party, with all the usual humanitarian crowd. The scoop is that this night, I broke up with my Kiwi boyfriend. I had incidentally found out that he had “forgotten” to mention a child and a fiancée waiting for him back home. Oups, one of those little details… Some of my friends were telling me not to care “carpe diem, who cares? In 6 months down the road, you two will probably be in different continents anyhow!”. Others were mad, so mad at him to the point that you would actually wonder whose feelings had been hurt there?

I chose to discretely escape and go back home. Here I am, sipping on my coffee, enjoying the most promising sunrise I had ever watched.

(c)Cynthia Elliott

(c)Cynthia Elliott

I remember realizing the truth of the proverb “sometimes, things happen for a reason”. Made me smile. This one morning, I made myself a promise. I will give time to time. I know the values I am standing for, and I want to be proud of me when I’ll look back at my life. It was time to me to live more from intention and less from habit. The heart warming rays of the sun seemed to whisper “Good things happen to those who wait”.

My awesome flatmate came for the usual debriefing of the party she had missed. The ex boyfriend had become a detail of the past. I was actually thankful for the eyes opener. I simply told her “I know what I am standing for. Next time I’ll tell you I am with someone, get ready to be my wedding witness”.

I did not turn into a kind Sleeping Beauty waiting for The Man. I simply decided to eliminate from my life all that was not serving it. I made myself the promise to fall in love when I am ready, not because I am lonely. It was about time to finally become my best friend, focus on my values and live the healthy life I had been procrastinating for a bit too long.

A year down the road, the same great flat mate is telling me about this friend of her who I should really meet, “because you two have the same twisted sense of humor”. Marcel was deployed in Afghanistan, me in India. After weeks of virtual courtship, we finally met up in Dubai. And yes, it was love at first sight.

No way we could even think about living together in the same town, let alone the same country back then. It took us about two years of long distance relationship before we could finally live under the same roof. No stress, no pressure, we have known since day one that our paths were meant to be together. Good things come to those who wait. Better things happen to those who don’t give up.

Marcel and the kids are having a blast building a tent in the living room. My family is my everything. If you allow me, there is just one line I want to add to the proverb, to make it really complete:

Typic

(c) Mandy Scheidt Smith

5 comments on “Good things come to those who wait, but better things…

  1. Pingback: Waiting room | My Kaleidoscope

  2. Nends
    November 17, 2014

    Indeed. Wonderful post and very beautiful written. It has been a blessing to know the both of you. xxx.

    • estelea
      November 17, 2014

      Thanks so much and Same same here na ka 🙂 XXX

  3. Pingback: The Sun Will Rise….. | Rahul Creatrix's Blog

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Good things come to those who wait | Lord of the Sick - Saviour of the World

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 17, 2014 by in Family and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Check them out, they are awesome!

Wish to Dish

Celebrating food and all the joy that comes from creating and eating it.

Motherhood Made Me Do It

Surviving kids, marriage and life with only the suggestion of sanity

giaspora.wordpress.com/

Geopolitics, Economics and Culture .... a view from the Philippine Diaspora

Yours Truly, Dimi

Inspiration. Aspirations. Exploration

Photography Journal Blog

The ramblings of a photographer who is trying to improve

Grammy Writes

and takes pictures, and travels, and...

GreenStitched

all your sustainability stories, together

Journal Edge

An online blog with highly informative, cheerful and inspirational articles for people who love travel to India with passion and make a different Lifestyle. Vikas Acharya is the founder and managing editor at Journal Edge Online Blog. Contact me to find out how I can help you create high-quality blog content, lead magnets, ebooks, and web copy for your business.

La Rioja and the world seen from my guardaviñas

Sharing ideas. Photos, travels, music, History, stories,...

Indrosphere

All conditioned things are impermanent

Elizabeth Beer

Yoga Life for the Determined Yogi

runsurfyogagirl031

runsurfyogagirl031

Traveling around the world

Traveling with God blessings

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

Yves-sama

You've Arrived.

Petite Girls Guide

Bipolar and Mental Illnesses are written about here. Written by a bipolar person themselves.

Darwin on the rocks and around the world

Photography and travel blog

