Estelea's Blog

French Mum, humanitarian, restless explorer and doer on sabbatical in Cebu (Philippines): one Attila in each arm, I am exploring the “toddlers safe” corners of the region, while trying to keep some room for Me.

Digging into the treasure chest of the goo’ol’times

treasurechest

Today’s prompt: Salad Days

I had motherhood all figured out. Then I had children. Since then, it has all been learning about strengths I did not know I had and fears I did not know existed.

« you’ll understand when you’ll have children on your own » would be my Mum’s ultimate answers to my constant « why ». Why do you always need to know with who I am at night? why do I always have to call you when I am on a school trip? why can’t I spend the WE with those great people ( that I would have met only a few hours ago)? Why can’t wear anything I fancy?

Now that I have children on my own, not only I realize I that I tend to talk like my Mum. But even scarier, I sometimes turn into the cliché of the Jewish mother! so hyper protective, so worried for nothing..

Sometimes when I feel overwhelmed by the responsibilities, when I miss my unbearable lightness of being, I dwell in the old times…vintage

But it is never the times I miss, it’s the people I had the privilege to meet. I would open the treasure chest of my childhood and wear a bracelet from my cherished Mamie Juliette, hold the lighter of Papy Gaston.. I would have loved them to meet with my bunch of crazies, no doubt they would have adored each other.

Deep into the box, I can also hear the contagious laughter of all my crazy cousins at my other grand ma’ house. Put on the old record and you ll see me and my best friend dancing like two possessed monkeys and fantasizing about “when we’ll grow up and meet Mr Right”.

See those white cubes with the Red Cross labels? They all contain smiles of wonderful people, a bit of red sand, a muddy badge. Vintage stuff, years BC (Before Children).

When I dig into my precious souvenirs, I don’t even try to pull off the tiny little sadness that stick to it. thankfulI let it be and witness its magical transformation, as it fades into a little light of gratitude in my heart. I feel so blessed, so happy for all the great moments and the special people who inspired me to become the woman I am now.

A little trip to the treasure chest always cheers me up, eventually. Because my most precious treasures ever are the ones who live with me, the ones who give me those grey hairs and justify all the caffeine. My little Zen masters. The good times can not be old. The good times are now 🙂

8 comments on “Digging into the treasure chest of the goo’ol’times

  1. jan
    November 19, 2014

    awww.. this is such a touching post. i totally enjoyed reading it. =)

    • estelea
      November 19, 2014

      Thank you very much Jan ! means a lot 😉

  2. Pingback: Life Is Beautiful | Rahul Creatrix's Blog

  3. motherhendiaries
    November 19, 2014

    Very nice post, sweet…. lovely. And what treasures you have in your life now! 🙂 p.s. – I am also becoming my mother… it comes with the territory.

    • estelea
      November 19, 2014

      Thank you so much! Isn’t it both fun and scary to become our Mums? I haven’t dared asking my husband, not sure I want to hear his answer 😉 x

  4. trablog
    November 20, 2014

    Nicely written. And beautiful picture of treasure chest 🙂

    • estelea
      November 21, 2014

      Thanks dear 🙂 Did you notice that there were even a map of Paris? pretty proud of this one 😛 Have a sweet day!

      • trablog
        November 21, 2014

        Yes, I remember seeing a map. But wasn’t sure that its of Paris 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 19, 2014 by in Family and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Check them out, they are awesome!

Wish to Dish

Celebrating food and all the joy that comes from creating and eating it.

Motherhood Made Me Do It

Surviving kids, marriage and life with only the suggestion of sanity

giaspora.wordpress.com/

Geopolitics, Economics and Culture .... a view from the Philippine Diaspora

Yours Truly, Dimi

Inspiration. Aspirations. Exploration

Photography Journal Blog

The ramblings of a photographer who is trying to improve

Grammy Writes

and takes pictures, and travels, and...

GreenStitched

all your sustainability stories, together

Journal Edge

An online blog with highly informative, cheerful and inspirational articles for people who love travel to India with passion and make a different Lifestyle. Vikas Acharya is the founder and managing editor at Journal Edge Online Blog. Contact me to find out how I can help you create high-quality blog content, lead magnets, ebooks, and web copy for your business.

La Rioja and the world seen from my guardaviñas

Sharing ideas. Photos, travels, music, History, stories,...

Indrosphere

All conditioned things are impermanent

Elizabeth Beer

Yoga Life for the Determined Yogi

runsurfyogagirl031

runsurfyogagirl031

Traveling around the world

Traveling with God blessings

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

Yves-sama

You've Arrived.

Petite Girls Guide

Bipolar and Mental Illnesses are written about here. Written by a bipolar person themselves.

Darwin on the rocks and around the world

Photography and travel blog

