Estelea's Blog

French Mum, humanitarian, restless explorer and doer on sabbatical in Cebu (Philippines): one Attila in each arm, I am exploring the “toddlers safe” corners of the region, while trying to keep some room for Me.

About time to embark on New adventures!

Newhorizons

The first Weekly Photo Challenge of the year is to illustrate “New”…

We have been in the Philippines for almost a year now, time to already think about our next posting. The hubbie’s contract finishes next year, but finding a family mission in the humanitarian sector takes times… As we are getting older wiser, there are more factors to take into consideration than the job itself: the education system, the health structure, and last but not least, the number of hours between our new home and the  old European one (or at least a direct flight!). The Attilas are not babies anymore, I want to give them the chance to build memories with their grand parents and their cousins.

Soon enough, I’ll have to work on my resume again, reconnect on Linkedin, study the UN and EU job offers.. Keep my eyes and ears open to any new interesting opportunity. Always leaving room for all what makes my soul happy is essential to me, as all the jobs I have loved have always come to me “by chance”. I had never thought about becoming a TV producer nor an aid worker when I was a student. It all came to me when I decided to follow my instincts, to do things that fills my heart. Maybe time for a new career path? There are still lots of places on the planet where being in your early 40s does not ring like a mid life crisis, but sings like second half of opportunities,where you can do something good with what you know, be open to what you don’t and follow your bliss!

Inhale the future, exhale the past…

To a New Year, New breath, New chances.. When nothing is sure, everything is possible 🙂

***

(The painting is signed by the greatissimo Oskunk. The most personal and precious Xmas present I ever got comes from  my adorable little brother Jules: The tree of life, the countries we lived in, and our names .. For more on Oskunk’s pieces, click here )

10 comments on “About time to embark on New adventures!

  1. Priceless Joy
    January 5, 2015

    I think it is so wonderful that you and your family are on an adventure and will continue to go on adventures as your husband’s work moves him. That is such a wonderful learning opportunity for young minds. And… it keeps you and your husband younger 🙂 Best wishes for a wonderful 2015! ((Hugs!)) xo

    • estelea
      January 6, 2015

      Big hugs in return :)Thanks so much for your kind message, and yes, as you say, traveling (hopefully) prevents us from getting too boringly old. Or at least that’s what I want to believe, but you’d have to ask my kids in a few years 😉 There is nothing truer than this quote from Mark Twain :”Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness, and many of our people need it sorely on these accounts”. Don’t you agree? X

      • Priceless Joy
        January 6, 2015

        I love that quote! I have never heard it before. For sure, you and your husband will not grow boringly old. LOL!

  2. LifestyleswithLia
    January 6, 2015

    Here’s to a second half of life opportunities! You write with such optimism, joy and wonderment of your future….it’s inspiring and so refreshing! I’m confident that everything will fall perfectly into place for you and your family…Like you say, “always leave room what what makes your soul happy”….Well said!

    • estelea
      January 6, 2015

      Cheers to that, indeed! I’ll bring the Champagne, but you’ll cook ok? 😉 Thanks so much for your sweet message, will obviously keep you posted… Have a beautiful day X

      • LifestyleswithLia
        January 6, 2015

        Sounds like a perfect plan!
        Greetings from snowy New York!

  3. luciledegodoy
    January 8, 2015

    “Inhale the future, exhale the past…”
    You are so inspiring, Estelea!
    And you exhale positive energy, drive, faith, love, care, affection, flexibility, and much more, all over us on your blog. I am very grateful to have met you. Thank you.
    And I wish you the very best, always. You surely will create new opportunities for you and make the best of it, that I have no doubts.
    What a beautiful Christmas gift. Thanks for sharing it.
    xxx

    • estelea
      January 8, 2015

      ❤ !!! (and I really mean it 🙂

      • luciledegodoy
        January 9, 2015

        Heartfelt thank you and I send ❤ back to you!

  4. Pingback: Just a Few More… | INSPIRING my EMOTIONS

Leave a Reply

Check them out, they are awesome!

Wish to Dish

Celebrating food and all the joy that comes from creating and eating it.

Motherhood Made Me Do It

Surviving kids, marriage and life with only the suggestion of sanity

giaspora.wordpress.com/

Geopolitics, Economics and Culture .... a view from the Philippine Diaspora

Yours Truly, Dimi

Inspiration. Aspirations. Exploration

Photography Journal Blog

The ramblings of a photographer who is trying to improve

Grammy Writes

and takes pictures, and travels, and...

GreenStitched

all your sustainability stories, together

Journal Edge

An online blog with highly informative, cheerful and inspirational articles for people who love travel to India with passion and make a different Lifestyle. Vikas Acharya is the founder and managing editor at Journal Edge Online Blog. Contact me to find out how I can help you create high-quality blog content, lead magnets, ebooks, and web copy for your business.

La Rioja and the world seen from my guardaviñas

Sharing ideas. Photos, travels, music, History, stories,...

Indrosphere

All conditioned things are impermanent

Elizabeth Beer

Yoga Life for the Determined Yogi

runsurfyogagirl031

runsurfyogagirl031

Traveling around the world

Traveling with God blessings

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

Yves-sama

You've Arrived.

Petite Girls Guide

Bipolar and Mental Illnesses are written about here. Written by a bipolar person themselves.

Darwin on the rocks and around the world

Photography and travel blog

