Estelea's Blog

French Mum, humanitarian, restless explorer and doer on sabbatical in Cebu (Philippines): one Attila in each arm, I am exploring the “toddlers safe” corners of the region, while trying to keep some room for Me.

A (terribly shocking!) moment in time

Coffee

I have been an expat for the last decade, half of it in Asia. I am quite used to the cultural differences between our continents. Or that’s what I naively thought, before visiting this little Korean supermarket by my home.

The shock was immediate! Check what’s written on the Can. It is simply terrible.

Not that the maker himself acknowledges that the beverage is “slightly acidic” ( I bet it is a nice euphemism!), or that it “has a distinct aroma and favor” ( at least you’ve been warned! ) . But that it proudly states that what’s inside is “French Cappuccino” !!! So wrong, so, so wrong. I felt my chin tremble and cursed this globalization that does not respect anything, anymore. All of a sudden, I felt very old.

Still in shock, I headed to Fujinoya, a few meters away from the horror. The Japanese patisserie serves the best Capuccino in town, and probably far beyond. As I sipped my heart shaped elixir, globalization blinked at me.

30 comments on “A (terribly shocking!) moment in time

  1. Ann GrubbsnCritters
    January 20, 2015

    Hahaaaaaaaaa! Sorry can’t help it. Big insult to a French!

  2. estelea
    January 20, 2015

    My flag bled 😛

  3. estelea
    January 20, 2015

    and seriously, which kind of humans can drink that ? brrrr… like selling your mouthwatering meals in capsules (see??? it hurts, doesn’t it??? 😉

  4. Ann GrubbsnCritters
    January 20, 2015

    why would anyone want to drink a coffee from a can would be the big question. 🙂 terrible thing!

  5. estelea
    January 20, 2015

    Plus it is cold! terrible, terrible! hope those people will never come closed to our wines!!! 😛

  6. wendybarronwrites
    January 20, 2015

    Ugh! Mind you, the Asian or American take on anything European often falls wide of the mark, in my experience. Starbucks, for instance. 🙂

    • estelea
      January 21, 2015

      You have a great point here Wendy! 😉

  7. trablog
    January 20, 2015

    French are fashionably advanced! 😀

    • estelea
      January 21, 2015

      Oh dear, it goes beyond fashion. It’s the taste, the ambience, the aroma… We often say we are “eating with our eyes as well”. A nicely set table, an espresso in a glass, a single macaron on the side. It is already an invitation to travel, don’t you think? Hmm.. I woke up on a poet mood, vive la France 🙂

      • trablog
        January 21, 2015

        haha.. you make me want to visit France! 😀 Yes, exactly. An invitation to travel. Keep up the good work poetess 😉

      • estelea
        January 21, 2015

        Merci 😉

  8. Amy
    January 20, 2015

    So wrong….! 🙂

    • estelea
      January 21, 2015

      Beyond words! thanks for the support Amy!

  9. listentothebabe
    January 21, 2015

    Hahaha! Loved this post. Globalisation fucking blinks at us, every time, Frenchie. We blinked first and they won. I took a photo of this and sent it to my French mate in HK. Off to have my genuine thing this morning… 🙂

    • estelea
      January 21, 2015

      Oh yeah !… Have a pure one dear, coffee and inspiring day!

  10. Mike W. Strachan
    January 21, 2015

    Great post! 🙂 And no it doesn’t look appetising at all!

    • estelea
      January 22, 2015

      Ahhh… thanks for making me feel normal my dear 😉

  11. Andy
    January 21, 2015

    I suggest you buy up their entire supply and drop it in the ocean off Mactan, in an instant.

    (See what I did there … “instant”? … oh, nevermind).

    • estelea
      January 22, 2015

      😀 But What if it kills all the fishes, worth than the cruelest net(spresso) (this one was very lame. Sorry)

  12. mjennings
    January 21, 2015

    While I lived in Japan, I was half-amazed, half-repulsed by the very notion of Any Hot Beverage in a Can. I mean, I was more than aware that the Japanese had perfected on-the-go “konbini” to a ridiculous extreme; I just wasn’t prepared for it at all. And everything in a vending machine. Everything. Not just coffee in a can. I lived a block or two away from a vending machine that sold cans of beer AND bottles of whiskey. About a half a mile down the road, there were a row of vending machines selling everything from hot coffee in a can to ramen to flower arrangements. Insane.

    • estelea
      January 22, 2015

      Waou, I had no idea it could be so extreme!!! That’s what I call cultural clash 😛 THink about those little things we associate with pleasure, typically like coffee. Even if what’s in the can happened to be drinkable, I would be totally repulsed by the packaging. I guess it is cultural. But definitely one of those things that can make you big time homesick on a tired day 😛 Thanks for stopping by, and cheers to proper glasses and mugs..with a real coffee my dear 😉

  13. mjennings
    January 21, 2015

    *was a row (I am slacking today)

  14. Maia Blessings
    January 21, 2015

    Sacrilege … wanna be coffee lol … how can they manage to do such things ..to the blessed bean .. that is such smooth magic on the pallet 🙂

    • estelea
      January 22, 2015

      THanks Maia, I really appreciate your standing by me! It means a lot 😛

  15. Pingback: Visiting moments in time for 101 & found this : Social Media is a Waste of Time for Writers—Hmmm, Think Again .. so decided to try the “scary” PRESS this button ;) LOL | Heart Cloud Blessings

  16. GreenRideBikers
    January 22, 2015

    wow, enjoyed reading it, I felt like I was sipping a coffee…!!!

    Hats of to your writing skill, I enjoyed reading it..short and deliciously savouring!

    And, yes, Indeed, that happened with me too…in fact, it was the same reason, which stopped me from buying any handicraft items while I was travelling India, as each and every craft is available for sell in Mumbai, my Hometown,,haha

    • estelea
      January 22, 2015

      heheh, thanks for stopping by! 😉 and thanks a lot for your very sweet words, so encouraging, thanks, thanks thanks!

  17. Pingback: Dynwens Last Symphony – the past is cast | litadoolan

  18. luciledegodoy
    January 25, 2015

    Yikes! I would be horrified as well. Globalization keeps blinking, unfortunately. Great post. Well written. Chapeau!

    • estelea
      January 26, 2015

      Cappucino , like real Coffees, are my “Madeleine de Proust”. They bring back all those sweet memories from the past, they are much more than a caffeine shot. Can not work when they are caged in a can. They need oxygen to breath, to do their magic. Cappucino in Can no Pasaran! Hasta la revolucion, companeros!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 20, 2015 by in Culture shock and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Check them out, they are awesome!

Wish to Dish

Celebrating food and all the joy that comes from creating and eating it.

Motherhood Made Me Do It

Surviving kids, marriage and life with only the suggestion of sanity

giaspora.wordpress.com/

Geopolitics, Economics and Culture .... a view from the Philippine Diaspora

Yours Truly, Dimi

Inspiration. Aspirations. Exploration

Photography Journal Blog

The ramblings of a photographer who is trying to improve

Grammy Writes

and takes pictures, and travels, and...

GreenStitched

all your sustainability stories, together

Journal Edge

An online blog with highly informative, cheerful and inspirational articles for people who love travel to India with passion and make a different Lifestyle. Vikas Acharya is the founder and managing editor at Journal Edge Online Blog. Contact me to find out how I can help you create high-quality blog content, lead magnets, ebooks, and web copy for your business.

La Rioja and the world seen from my guardaviñas

Sharing ideas. Photos, travels, music, History, stories,...

Indrosphere

All conditioned things are impermanent

Elizabeth Beer

Yoga Life for the Determined Yogi

runsurfyogagirl031

runsurfyogagirl031

Traveling around the world

Traveling with God blessings

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

Yves-sama

You've Arrived.

Petite Girls Guide

Bipolar and Mental Illnesses are written about here. Written by a bipolar person themselves.

Darwin on the rocks and around the world

Photography and travel blog

