Estelea's Blog

French Mum, humanitarian, restless explorer and doer on sabbatical in Cebu (Philippines): one Attila in each arm, I am exploring the “toddlers safe” corners of the region, while trying to keep some room for Me.

The French word of the day: carte postale

postcardlr

Remember the pre-Instagram era? when we would take the time to buy post cards and look for stamps. Usually on the last day of the holidays, we would sit down at a Café terrace and write a few lines to the grand parents and the best friends.

I have always loved writing postcards, and I still do. It is really like sharing a moment of my holidays with someone dear to my heart. I love writing with a pen too, it means that I am taking the time. That I care.

So here is one just for you, une carte postale (postcard) from home!

WIsh you were here 🙂

A bientôt!

12 comments on “The French word of the day: carte postale

  1. that traveling nurse
    March 12, 2015

    I love writing and receiving letters. I also had quite the stamp collection back then. Too bad I lost my collection between moving from house to another… thanks for the postcards! 🙂

    • estelea
      March 13, 2015

      You are welcome 🙂 exactly same here, nothing beats a real letter, ever!

  2. Hubert
    March 12, 2015

    I loved the “usually on the last day” info – so true! And sometimes, after having written and stamped it, forgot to send it after all… so had to send it with another stamp on top from home.
    Thanks for that post, lovely trip down memory lane 😉

    • estelea
      March 13, 2015

      Oh you are so right! how many times did I sent the cards from home, after all the time I spent looking for local stamps ? 😀 Bah, at least the attention was there and the card arrived! Have a lovely day!

  3. Amanda Afield
    March 12, 2015

    I completely agree, it’s such a nice surprise to get something in the mail that isn’t a bill or advertisement, and sending them is just as fun!

    • estelea
      March 13, 2015

      We should do it much more often! Next year, I ll get proper mail addresses 🙂

  4. Mrs. Bingles
    March 12, 2015

    I used to collect postcards and I’m still in love with them, so wherever I go I buy one for mysels and use it as a bookmark. I also occasionally write postcards to my family. It’s true that in this techno-era it’s such a lovely surprise receiving a postcard from someone because it means you really mean something to this person. 🙂

    • estelea
      March 13, 2015

      Exactly! Love the idea of using postcards as a bookmark. I’ve just bought a big bunch of books to take back to the Philippines, on my way to get the postcards, thanks for the idea 🙂 Will be as if I am taking a bit of Paris with me

  5. LifestyleswithLia
    March 12, 2015

    Oh yes, how I remember well! We too would search for the best card and then finding stamps was always an adventure! I wrote my last postcard in 2012, I remember…I should do it more often on my next trip somewhere! The recipient would probably be shocked to find it in their mailbox since yes, Instagram and the like have taken over! Thanks for sending me a postcard from Paris today!
    Lia

    • estelea
      March 13, 2015

      3 years ago, waou… Mine was probably by the same time actually, it is so complicated to send anything from the Philippines anyway. New resolution of the year: sending postcards, at least 5 a year 🙂 Now that I know I am not the only one who likes to write them and receive them !

      • LifestyleswithLia
        March 13, 2015

        I love this idea! At least five a year!
        Have an amazing Parisian weekend my dear Estelea!

      • estelea
        March 13, 2015

        Xxx!!!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 12, 2015 by in Europe bound, learn French and tagged , , , , , , .

Check them out, they are awesome!

Wish to Dish

Celebrating food and all the joy that comes from creating and eating it.

Motherhood Made Me Do It

Surviving kids, marriage and life with only the suggestion of sanity

giaspora.wordpress.com/

Geopolitics, Economics and Culture .... a view from the Philippine Diaspora

Yours Truly, Dimi

Inspiration. Aspirations. Exploration

Photography Journal Blog

The ramblings of a photographer who is trying to improve

Grammy Writes

and takes pictures, and travels, and...

GreenStitched

all your sustainability stories, together

Journal Edge

An online blog with highly informative, cheerful and inspirational articles for people who love travel to India with passion and make a different Lifestyle. Vikas Acharya is the founder and managing editor at Journal Edge Online Blog. Contact me to find out how I can help you create high-quality blog content, lead magnets, ebooks, and web copy for your business.

La Rioja and the world seen from my guardaviñas

Sharing ideas. Photos, travels, music, History, stories,...

Indrosphere

All conditioned things are impermanent

Elizabeth Beer

Yoga Life for the Determined Yogi

runsurfyogagirl031

runsurfyogagirl031

Traveling around the world

Traveling with God blessings

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

Yves-sama

You've Arrived.

Petite Girls Guide

Bipolar and Mental Illnesses are written about here. Written by a bipolar person themselves.

Darwin on the rocks and around the world

Photography and travel blog

