Estelea's Blog

French Mum, humanitarian, restless explorer and doer on sabbatical in Cebu (Philippines): one Attila in each arm, I am exploring the “toddlers safe” corners of the region, while trying to keep some room for Me.

The French word of the day: Mur (to ride in peace and to listen to…)

Live from Paris, for another day before we head to Switzerland.. Here is my take on the weekly photo challenge on Wall (mur):

First time I saw a bike embed into a Parisian wall, with the logo Ride In Peace, I thought it was a little memorial for an unlucky rider.

Then I saw another one, in another district. And another one..So I did my bit of homework and discovered that there is a Mr Ride in Peace behind this Street Art. It’s been a year since he has started climbing, pining, painting and glueing those broken bikes in every district of the French capital. His way to offer a tribute to Paris’ riders.

For the record, he is a courier, spending most of his days.. on a bike! More about the artist and his work right There!

I took the last picture today on Saint Roch street. Strangely enough, I couldn’t find anything about this Blue Face.. Would welcome any info about it!

Wishing you all an adventurous yet peaceful week 😛

13 comments on “The French word of the day: Mur (to ride in peace and to listen to…)

  1. LifestyleswithLia
    March 16, 2015

    Oh thanks for clarifying about Ride in Peace! As I was reading, I wondered!
    And the blue face is haunting yet comical!
    Super shots and super walls!

    • estelea
      March 16, 2015

      Thanks a lot 🙂 the blue face really caught me by surprise, and the weirdest thing is that I could not find any info about it. I sent a message to the Department f culture, and I am looking forward to their answer… Paris is so full of mysteries and secrets, brrrr.. 😉 Have a beautiful week my friend XXX

      • LifestyleswithLia
        March 16, 2015

        Oh how intriguing! Please let us know if you hear back from them!
        Xoxoxo Lia

    • estelea
      April 7, 2015

      Finally got the answer re: The Face! here : http://travelwithintent.com/2015/04/07/f-is-for-face-on-the-wall/

      • LifestyleswithLia
        April 8, 2015

        Hello my dear!! Hope you’re doing well.. Oh thanks for forwarding me the Face information! So intriguing!! I appreciate it since I was curious!
        Big hugs to you!

      • estelea
        April 8, 2015

        Big hugs in return 😉

  2. ady
    March 16, 2015

    Ride in Peace, a very strange idea and street art but I think anything that adds to cause is a great idea 😀 Lovely shots 😀

    • estelea
      March 16, 2015

      Thanks a lot 🙂 Honestly I am not a fan of street art, most of the time I find it aggressive. If at least its message is positive, then I could like it.
      But I find those broken bikes rather depressing. On another hand, they are passing their message perfectly, for more secure space in Paris for riders. They are haunting, so the artist really reached his goals, eventually. Nice Monday to you ❤

  3. AR Mutajalli
    March 16, 2015

    bagus!

    • estelea
      March 16, 2015

      Super special, isn’t it? Plus the Ride in Peace artist is fixing his art mostly at night, when policemen are nowhere to be seen…;) thanks for stopping by !

  4. dunelight
    March 16, 2015

    Great entry and thanks for bringing this crusading artist forward. 🙂

  5. estelea
    March 16, 2015

    You’ll may see him in Amsterdam actually 🙂 I read somewhere that he dreams of exhibiting there, and I wouldn’t be surprised if he does sooner than later. If he hadn’t destroyed any monument, he definitely destroyed my good spirits when I stepped into a dog’s “present” as for once I was not focused on the road but on what was on the walls ! Pfffftttt… XXX!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 15, 2015 by in Europe bound, learn French, Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Check them out, they are awesome!

Wish to Dish

Celebrating food and all the joy that comes from creating and eating it.

Motherhood Made Me Do It

Surviving kids, marriage and life with only the suggestion of sanity

giaspora.wordpress.com/

Geopolitics, Economics and Culture .... a view from the Philippine Diaspora

Yours Truly, Dimi

Inspiration. Aspirations. Exploration

Photography Journal Blog

The ramblings of a photographer who is trying to improve

Grammy Writes

and takes pictures, and travels, and...

GreenStitched

all your sustainability stories, together

Journal Edge

An online blog with highly informative, cheerful and inspirational articles for people who love travel to India with passion and make a different Lifestyle. Vikas Acharya is the founder and managing editor at Journal Edge Online Blog. Contact me to find out how I can help you create high-quality blog content, lead magnets, ebooks, and web copy for your business.

La Rioja and the world seen from my guardaviñas

Sharing ideas. Photos, travels, music, History, stories,...

Elizabeth Beer

Yoga Life for the Determined Yogi

runsurfyogagirl031

runsurfyogagirl031

Traveling around the world

Traveling with God blessings

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

Yves-sama

You've Arrived.

Petite Girls Guide

Bipolar and Mental Illnesses are written about here. Written by a bipolar person themselves.

Darwin on the rocks and around the world

Photography and travel blog

