Estelea's Blog

French Mum, humanitarian, restless explorer and doer on sabbatical in Cebu (Philippines): one Attila in each arm, I am exploring the “toddlers safe” corners of the region, while trying to keep some room for Me.

Arise, Children of the Fashion Land, Join the Fashion Revolution today!

whomademyclothes

No way I can ever quit shopping! I am Parisian, it is in my DNA.

My cupboards are full, let alone the ones of the Attilas. I am constantly looking for bargains, sales, how to pay less and get more. Asia is great for that, as most of the branded clothes are made here (Cambodia, Bangladesh,India..). So far, shopping has been my main cardio, and I never thought about asking “who makes my clothes?”

That was before the collapse of the factory of Rana Plaza in Bangladesh (2 years ago today). The tragedy snatched 1,133 workers to their families. More than 2,500 were injured. Hundreds of children became orphaned.

I remember this day when I discovered how my clothes and the ones of my family were made. My little Zara top was not the sparkly funky one it used to be. All of a sudden, it was telling me a story of blood and suffering. I could see those poor children and their family, treated like slaves just for me show off in my new Mango dress. Welcome to the real world of the Fast Fashion.

Since this day, I can’t buy a cloth without wondering who is behind the label. I need to know under what conditions the garments workers do their job. Because this is their story we wear every day.

I am not quitter and I ll keep on shopping. But with a responsible attitude.

I gave up Fast fashion, and became addicted to second hand and customization (to the great pleasure of Ms Attila who loves to add her personal touch to her “already loved” clothes).

My wardrobe new moto is “less is more”: Less clothes but better quality. Real ethical brands are more expensive, but you can trace who made your clothes. When I ask “who made my clothes?”, this is the kind of answers I get:

Spread the word and celebrate Fashion Revolution Day with millions of shoppers all over the world!

Follow the initiator of this great campaign : #Fash_Rev

More about the campaign.

And make sure you follow FashionRevolution (@Fash_Rev)

@SlowFashionFWD

@Magnifeco

@EthicalFashionForums

@loveyourclothes

@thegoodwardrobe

Hasta la revolucion, Companeros!

14 comments on “Arise, Children of the Fashion Land, Join the Fashion Revolution today!

  1. Fabio
    April 24, 2015

    A rational approach to the buying process: less, but better, which means more! We consume less (fabric, energy, transportation, etc. which is better for the environment), we pay more, and we hope that the brand will pay better wages to the workers.

    Excellent post, dear Estelea! All the best to you and your family, and Shabbat Shalom!

    • estelea
      April 24, 2015

      You are so right Fabio, less but better. I am happy to read that more and more people from all ages are joining this “revolution” and really want to be responsible citizens, parents and most of all, humans. Now with internet the world has became a village, it is getting much more easier to find out about the ethics of a company, how they are really engaged in Corporate social responsibility. We really have the power to make things change, even if it takes times.. Our children will inherit our planet and our attitude, so let’s be active 🙂 Thanks so much for your kind words and Shabbat Shalom to you and your family too. Every Friday, I am expecting your Shabbat post, thanks for this great rendez vous 🙂

      • Fabio
        April 24, 2015

        Thanks so much, Estelea! We had a very busy week of work and different activities as well. I went to a Yom Ha’Shoah ceremony at JCC in La Jolla – it was very emotional, combative, and hopeful, too, with songs, films, candle lighting, prayers, and the singing of Haktiva at the end. The Introduction to Judaism class this Wednesday will be at University of California San Diego, with a presentation by Ari Shavit (you may know him already) about his book ‘My Promised Land’. Have a great weekend, my friend! Ms. Atilla and Mr. Atilla are shining on your recent pictures at the beach. That’s what a friend from Florida calls ‘Pura Vida’! All the best and take care! 🙂 Fabio

  2. Fabio
    April 24, 2015

    “Because this is their story we wear every day.” That’s great!!!

  3. trablogger
    April 24, 2015

    another ‘French’ revolution 😉

    • estelea
      April 24, 2015

      It’s an International one actually! but as usual, the French are probably the loudest 😉

      • trablogger
        April 24, 2015

        haha.. pun was intended as I read about it from you 😉

  4. estelea
    April 24, 2015

    (and being French, how could I resist the call of a Revolution? especially with a Fashion touch?? 😉 )

  5. e
    April 24, 2015

    That quote is hilarious

    • estelea
      April 25, 2015

      Hehehe, thanks 🙂 I have tried though, but it’s stronger than me. At least now I have discovered some great second hand shops, so we can all eat at the end of the month 😉 Have a lovely week end!

      • e
        April 25, 2015

        Lol! You too Estelea!

  6. ItalianHurricane
    April 24, 2015

    Thanks for sharing this! I’m now following all the profiles you listed and I will share this post on my Facebook page (https://www.facebook.com/italianhurricane).

    After my last panic attacks I have been so busy trying to figure out what I like and to express my identity (also through clothes) that it got hard to focus on ethics at the same time. Now I think I’m ready to find the right balance again.

    Hugs! ❤

    • estelea
      April 25, 2015

      Oh, your message really touched me, thanks so much 🙂 ANd thanks for the repost. I have started following those guys last year, for the first Fashion Rev, and they are very inspiring. There is a huge community out there, trying to balance their life with more ethic and a touch of Carpe Diem. I really like the Slow Fashion movement, it resonates with my values.

      It takes quite lots of time to figure out what we like, doesn’t it? At least if you know what you don’t like and don’t want, you are paving the way already. You’ll find your way, you are such a sparkly girl, and you are doing great!

      Plus, you are dating RObert de Niro! not every girl can write it on her blog… 😉 Have a beautiful week end my dear ❤

  7. Gabi
    May 27, 2015

    I met a girl from London a few months ago. She told me that once she bought a dress from Primark (as you said, who doesn’t love bargains) and what do you think she saw when she was about to cut the bothering side labels? Someone had handwritten HELP ME. It was made in Cambodia.

Leave a Reply

Check them out, they are awesome!

Wish to Dish

Celebrating food and all the joy that comes from creating and eating it.

Motherhood Made Me Do It

Surviving kids, marriage and life with only the suggestion of sanity

giaspora.wordpress.com/

Geopolitics, Economics and Culture .... a view from the Philippine Diaspora

Yours Truly, Dimi

Inspiration. Aspirations. Exploration

Photography Journal Blog

The ramblings of a photographer who is trying to improve

Grammy Writes

and takes pictures, and travels, and...

GreenStitched

all your sustainability stories, together

Journal Edge

An online blog with highly informative, cheerful and inspirational articles for people who love travel to India with passion and make a different Lifestyle. Vikas Acharya is the founder and managing editor at Journal Edge Online Blog. Contact me to find out how I can help you create high-quality blog content, lead magnets, ebooks, and web copy for your business.

La Rioja and the world seen from my guardaviñas

Sharing ideas. Photos, travels, music, History, stories,...

Indrosphere

All conditioned things are impermanent

Elizabeth Beer

Yoga Life for the Determined Yogi

runsurfyogagirl031

runsurfyogagirl031

Traveling around the world

Traveling with God blessings

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

Yves-sama

You've Arrived.

Petite Girls Guide

Bipolar and Mental Illnesses are written about here. Written by a bipolar person themselves.

Darwin on the rocks and around the world

Photography and travel blog

