Estelea's Blog

French Mum, humanitarian, restless explorer and doer on sabbatical in Cebu (Philippines): one Attila in each arm, I am exploring the “toddlers safe” corners of the region, while trying to keep some room for Me.

One more week before Summer Class

What do you mean exactly by

What do you mean exactly by “it’s about time to go to school”?

The Attilas have been on (official) holidays since late February. Summer Class will start on May 5th, but I am not sure I am ready yet.

I know how next Monday morning will sound :

Me, squatting down and looking at Mr Attila in the eye:  “I really need to go to work today“, and repeating for the 100th time “there will be no crying when I drop you off Mon Amour, ok?”

And him, patting my shoulder: “yes Maman! I know you can do it!“.

27 comments on “One more week before Summer Class

  1. Awww. Yes, you can do it! 😀 (I was not expecting that by the way; good story!)

    • estelea
      April 28, 2015

      Thanks dear, I need those encouragements 😛

  2. amommasview
    April 28, 2015

    Oh dear… You can do it!!!

    • estelea
      April 29, 2015

      Thanks so much for your warm words ! Maybe try just one week of school, and play it by ear after… ;)X

      • amommasview
        April 29, 2015

        And decide to home-school…

      • estelea
        April 29, 2015

        Honestly, I am considering the option .. I am not so happy with the Asian teaching methods, very competitive and not considering the emotional intelligence of the kids. I kinda started with my daughter during the holidays, with maths and reading, and she loved it. Her teacher was pretty amazed by the results. I am looking for methods, ways to do it properly in the long run…

      • amommasview
        April 29, 2015

        Like a factory, isn’t it? I have to say, I’m pretty happy that there is a program we can use that’s based on the public school curriculum. Maybe you find an international school curriculum online somewhere?

      • estelea
        April 29, 2015

        Totally! I m looking for one actually .. If I want to be like the other mums here, would have to enroll my 2.5 yo to extra curricular activities every afternoon till 5 😛 seriously …

      • amommasview
        April 29, 2015

        Sick… Sometimes it seems as if they want to get rid of the kids for as much as possible… It’s the same here! And as a homeschooling family you often get to hear the “how can you stand having them around all the time?” And “It would drive me nuts”… Well, I love having my kids around (although they do drive me nuts sometimes…)

      • estelea
        April 29, 2015

        You are so right. Can you believe that when I gave birth in Thailand, the nurses were astonished because I insisted to have my baby by my bed and feed him on demand. One finally told me “it is not common here M’am. You will have a hard time sleeping” (!!!)

      • amommasview
        April 29, 2015

        Oh wow! That’s pretty shocking!

      • estelea
        April 29, 2015

        In Thailand, my OB told me that most (rich) women go for a C section not because they need it, but because it is convenient. Little cultural clash 😉 Then the babies are “trained” to eat every 3 or 4h. Et voilà! For them, me and my expat friends were a bunch of weird masochist hippies 😉

      • amommasview
        April 29, 2015

        Haha… Wow… How crazy! Well, welcome to the masochist club then! Let’s celebrate it!!!

      • estelea
        April 29, 2015

        😀

  3. that traveling nurse
    April 28, 2015

    oh, that look! 🙂

    • estelea
      April 29, 2015

      All the things they say about Mothers totally falling for their sons? I am afraid it is totally true 😛

      • that traveling nurse
        April 29, 2015

        he is YOURS and he is adorable. he will be a future heartbreaker! 🙂

  4. luciledegodoy
    April 28, 2015

    Absolutely fantastic! Xx

  5. Donna
    April 29, 2015

    So cute

    • estelea
      April 29, 2015

      Thanks Donna 🙂 I wish I could hide in his classroom at least for the first 2 days (man, did I just write that?? I am turning into my Mum!!)

      • Donna
        April 29, 2015

        Lol that happens

  6. LifestyleswithLia
    April 29, 2015

    Absolutely adorable pic and equally adorable response! I’m sure it’ll be tough to go back to school next week…Ugh, I always hated the first day of school after summer break but then it all became the usual routine after about 1 week and all worked out well. Good luck and keep us posted!
    PS What an amazing beach scene! What palm trees! What blue water! AHHH!

    • estelea
      May 4, 2015

      THanks Lia 🙂 Tomorrow is the big day and I think I am the only one having butterflies in my stomach… At least we ll spend the next week by this beach, so I can recover from the first days of school 😉 We ll give home schooling a try, one week a month first, talk about a kindergarden..

  7. Pingback: Glad we went! Glad we are back! | Estelea's Blog

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 28, 2015 by in Family, Me and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .

Check them out, they are awesome!

Wish to Dish

Celebrating food and all the joy that comes from creating and eating it.

Motherhood Made Me Do It

Surviving kids, marriage and life with only the suggestion of sanity

giaspora.wordpress.com/

Geopolitics, Economics and Culture .... a view from the Philippine Diaspora

Yours Truly, Dimi

Inspiration. Aspirations. Exploration

Photography Journal Blog

The ramblings of a photographer who is trying to improve

Grammy Writes

and takes pictures, and travels, and...

GreenStitched

all your sustainability stories, together

Journal Edge

An online blog with highly informative, cheerful and inspirational articles for people who love travel to India with passion and make a different Lifestyle. Vikas Acharya is the founder and managing editor at Journal Edge Online Blog. Contact me to find out how I can help you create high-quality blog content, lead magnets, ebooks, and web copy for your business.

La Rioja and the world seen from my guardaviñas

Sharing ideas. Photos, travels, music, History, stories,...

Indrosphere

All conditioned things are impermanent

Elizabeth Beer

Yoga Life for the Determined Yogi

runsurfyogagirl031

runsurfyogagirl031

Traveling around the world

Traveling with God blessings

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

Yves-sama

You've Arrived.

Petite Girls Guide

Bipolar and Mental Illnesses are written about here. Written by a bipolar person themselves.

Darwin on the rocks and around the world

Photography and travel blog

