Estelea's Blog

French Mum, humanitarian, restless explorer and doer on sabbatical in Cebu (Philippines): one Attila in each arm, I am exploring the “toddlers safe” corners of the region, while trying to keep some room for Me.

Dreaming

dreaming

Imagine that English is your second language. Your grammar and syntax are not good, but you at least you give yourself some time to view, review and triple check your posts before imposing them to your friends. And one day, out of the blue, one of your top favorite blogger challenges you to a  “Free Writing Challenge”. The instructions are terrible: writing for 10min, non stop and, as instructed, not correcting anything. The theme – how ironic: dreaming. It’s a nightmare, but how can you refuse?

You can still decide to walk away from this post and still pretend that my English is not sooo bad. Or bear with me a little longer and fill my comments section with heartwarming words of encouragements 😉

Ready? Steady? Go:

« Some men see things as they are and they say why. I dream of things that never were, and say why not ? »

Shawn’s words are my favorite ever. They used to be Bob Kennedy’s favorite too actually, and the first time I heard him pronouncing this sentence, with tremolo in his voice, I felt my heart smiling. I felt the tears in my eyes, and thought “this is really talking to my soul”.

I am a dreamer. I am dreaming day and night. I brainstorm, change colors, move my horizons, start so many of my sentences by « what if ».

I am dreamer and a doer. I can’t let a what if unanswered. I am pushing myself as hard as I am pushing the people around me, my kids, my husband, my teams. What if we could make it better ? what if we could make this world a better place ?

I does not need to be big. Nothing fancy, nothing sparkly. Just better. I am dreaming of making other hearts smile.

Dreaming is nothing without acting. The good feelings stay up in the air, they don”t warm any heart. So every day, or more realistically every week, I aim at doing something to turn my dreams into actions. Small ones, but significant ones. At least I hope they are.

I am dreaming of a better world, so I add my little drop: I smile to people even if I don’t feel like it. I sit down to talk with beggers instead of just giving them a coin. I care of my kids’ feelings and spare time, as much quality time as I can.

Ahhh… the alarm just rang! My time is up.

Word count: 278.

The Rules:

Open an MS Word document
Set a stop watch or your mobile to 5 minutes or 10 minutes whichever challenge you think you can beat.
You topic is at the foot of this post BUT DO NOT SCROLL DOWN TO SEE IT UNTIL YOU ARE READY WITH A TIMER.
Fill the word doc with as much words as you want. once you began writing do not stop even to turn.
Do not cheat by going back and correcting spellings and grammar with spell check in MS WORD (it is only meant for you to reflect on your own control of sensible thought flow and for you to reflect on your ability to write the right spelling and stick to grammar rules)
You may or may not pay attention to punctuation and capitals. However if you do, it would be best.
At the end of your post write down ‘No. Of words =_____’ so that we would have an idea of how much you can write within the time frame.
Do not forget to copy paste the entire passage on your blog post with a new Topic for your nominees and copy paste these rules with your nominations (at least 5 bloggers).

Nominated are:Silver Threading, anotherdayinparadise, thisismystory, arondworld,onefootoutthedoor,

Your mission, should you choose to accept it, is to write about”Blessings”  

47 comments on “Dreaming

  1. lexklein
    June 1, 2015

    As an English composition professor, I want to be the first to say that grammar and syntax are the icing, not the cake. Your writing is the cake – full of sweet content. I don’t even like icing! So yes, you are amazing, in French or English or any language you choose to convey your thoughts about the world!

    • amommasview
      June 1, 2015

      Glad you said this!!!

    • estelea
      June 1, 2015

      You are too kind my dearest, those are the ultimate compliments 🙂 best encouragements ever! You really made my week 🙂 thanks again and most of all, thanks for your wonderful stories, I m looking up at you for your great attitude and the way you travel … Have a beautiful week ❤

      • lexklein
        June 1, 2015

        And you are too kind as well! More stories coming soon – from Israel and Jordan in a few weeks!

      • estelea
        June 1, 2015

        Looking forward to reading more! shalom and enjoy 🙂

  2. amommasview
    June 1, 2015

    This post is so beautiful! Well done 🙂

    • estelea
      June 1, 2015

      Merci 🙂 ! It was really a challenge, to post without checking anything. Took me back to those years at school, when you want to rush to conclude your essay before the teacher pronounces the terrible “time is up. I’m collecting the copies now”…

      • amommasview
        June 1, 2015

        Oh yes, I remember those days all too well…

  3. that traveling nurse
    June 1, 2015

    I feel the same way too, with English as my second language. I get so conscious with how I say and pronounce words, at how I try to get the grammar correct… I proofread my posts several times and try to get it perfect but I know it never will be. So, I just give it my best shot and just let my feelings and emotions come through. Congrats on getting 278 words in ten minutes. 🙂

    • estelea
      June 2, 2015

      I need to spend more times with “natives” to catch the real expressions. Your Englishis so fluent and natural, no one could guess that English is your second language!

      • that traveling nurse
        June 2, 2015

        Yikes, I’m Bisdak first and foremost and THEN Pinoy. 😛 But aren’t we lucky we are bilingual? 🙂

      • estelea
        June 3, 2015

        Oh yes! funny how we are first defined by our region; so true. At least you are from a great place!

  4. trablogger
    June 1, 2015

    Well then What would be your French stories like! I wonder! 😉

    • estelea
      June 2, 2015

      Oh thanks (blushing and smiling : ) !!!

      • trablogger
        June 2, 2015

        haha.. You’re welcome 🙂

  5. But your English is not bad at all! And my favorite thing about your writing is that you write with sincerity. Being honest and sincere and passionate — that translates in any language. ❤

    • estelea
      June 2, 2015

      You are too kind, really, but I love the compliment so much! ❤ ❤ ❤ in return!

  6. Fabio
    June 1, 2015

    So proud of you, dear Estelea! You write with all your feelings! Therefore, you can write very well in any language! You dream but you have your feet on the ground. The betterment of the world is very Estelea. It is very Jewish, as you know. Again, so proud of you!
    In regard to the photo, she really is a Princess! Loved how she looks to the sky, her beautiful dress, all that green, and the many stars! Perfect!!!
    Have a wonderful week, my wonderful friend! Best to you and to your beautiful family! 🙂

    • estelea
      June 2, 2015

      10000 mercis my dear! your words mean so much to me. You know how fan I am of your blog, so whenever I have a compliment of someone I admire, I am in Heaven!!! Thanks so much again 🙂
      Best of best to you all

      • Fabio
        June 2, 2015

        Estelea, you and your family are one of our hopes in this world! Take care of yourselves, for you, and for us! Best wishes and many many thanks! 🙂

  7. anroworld
    June 1, 2015

    Very well said, Estselea! You seem to be not a dreamer, but you are a person who just changes the world for the better, you just do it without being afraid, I wish I could be so decisive and brave as you are! Every your post is a masterpiece! You should write books, I will be one of your faithful readers!

    • estelea
      June 2, 2015

      Your message is so very very kind! Really not sure I deserve all those compliments, but they make me sooo happy 🙂 Heartfelt thanks my dear ❤

      • anroworld
        June 2, 2015

        Estelea, you definitely deserved them! I just told what I felt, honestly! Wish you good luck! Take care!

      • estelea
        June 2, 2015

        another 10000 thanks then 😉

  8. LDG luciledegodoy
    June 1, 2015

    My dearest friend Estelea, your post is beautiful as is all you write. Your words carry always so much humanity; your exceeding generosity, compassion and warmth are so natural to you. Blessed are those who have the privilege to work with you, be your friend, family, husband, son and daughter.
    And please don’t ever worry about your English skills. Who cares about that when you bring so much? As Lexklein said, the icing in the cake is not even desirable.
    I’m grateful to have met you here and honored that you like my blog. There is total reciprocity here as you are on my top favorite.
    Hugs…
    Xx

    • estelea
      June 2, 2015

      Waou Lucile, you are the best and most efficient ego booster I ever ever had 🙂 You are too sweet, and your words came exactly at the right time. I think you are a fairy in disguise…
      Massive hugs !!! ❤

      • LDG luciledegodoy
        June 3, 2015

        Ego booster and fairy in disguise? I like this job. Where can I apply for it? LOL.
        My dearest, I am happy if my words arrived at the right time.
        A bear hug and bisous bisous.

      • estelea
        June 4, 2015

        You already got the job my dear, no competitor at this level 🙂 Have a lovely day ❤

      • LDG luciledegodoy
        June 4, 2015

        You’re so sweet! Thanks. Who’s the ego boaster here? You got a job too! ❤️

  9. Terri Webster Schrandt
    June 1, 2015

    Nicely done, Estelea! Like everyone has commented before, this was excellent! I especially love the quote in the image you chose (my daughter used the poem on her mortarboard for her college graduation!) Keep up the good work 🙂

    • estelea
      June 2, 2015

      Thanks so much Terry! I love this quote too, I remember you using it in a very recent post. As hard as it is sometimes, it is our role as parents to push our kids beyond their boundaries, their comfort zone (although my initial reflex will always be to hug them stronger and stronger..Latina mama…)
      Thanks again for your very kind message 🙂

      • Terri Webster Schrandt
        June 2, 2015

        And our children, even though they grow up, still need our help and pushes. 🙂

  10. desleyjane
    June 1, 2015

    Excellent post Estelea, just beautiful. As usual x.

    • estelea
      June 2, 2015

      Thanks so much ❤ Your encouragements mean a lot!

  11. Bell of Peace
    June 2, 2015

    Interesting perspective. Is a new way of looking. http://www.bellofpeace.org

    • estelea
      June 2, 2015

      indeed 🙂 your blog is incredibly beautiful and inspiring!

  12. ItalianHurricane
    June 2, 2015

    I loved this post! 😀

    • estelea
      June 3, 2015

      Thanks a lot 🙂 a real challenge to write “freely” without my best friends Google and spell check 😛 Thanks for enduring the pain to read it till the end!

      • ItalianHurricane
        June 3, 2015

        It wasn’t a pain at all 😀 Even without the safety net of the Google and spell check you write amazingly! 😉

  13. alexandrawritenow
    June 4, 2015

    I love this challenge, I will definitely have to give it a try some time. Nice job!

    • estelea
      June 5, 2015

      It’s really interesting actually. Scary and fun at the same time, you should definitely give it a try!Looking forward to reading your piece 🙂

  14. Ann GrubbsnCritters
    June 7, 2015

    Lovely lovely shot of ms attilla! Very nice composition of the challenge too. Well done, momma!!

  15. Janice Wald
    July 1, 2015

    Hi Estelea,
    1. I know Terri W. S.
    2. Is that your little girl in the picture? Little girls are fun. I have three daughters.
    3. Thank you for your visit to my site this week. I’m glad you liked my guest author’s post about procrastination. I’m on vacation but wanted to come by and thank you for your visit to my site, Reflections.
    Nice to meet you.
    Janice

    • estelea
      July 1, 2015

      Thanks for your message 🙂 it’s been a pleasure browsing your blog! Daughters are fantastic aren’t they ? I have one and 1 super son! Enjoy your vacation 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 1, 2015 by in challenges, Me and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .

Check them out, they are awesome!

Wish to Dish

Celebrating food and all the joy that comes from creating and eating it.

Motherhood Made Me Do It

Surviving kids, marriage and life with only the suggestion of sanity

giaspora.wordpress.com/

Geopolitics, Economics and Culture .... a view from the Philippine Diaspora

Yours Truly, Dimi

Inspiration. Aspirations. Exploration

Photography Journal Blog

The ramblings of a photographer who is trying to improve

Grammy Writes

and takes pictures, and travels, and...

GreenStitched

all your sustainability stories, together

Journal Edge

An online blog with highly informative, cheerful and inspirational articles for people who love travel to India with passion and make a different Lifestyle. Vikas Acharya is the founder and managing editor at Journal Edge Online Blog. Contact me to find out how I can help you create high-quality blog content, lead magnets, ebooks, and web copy for your business.

La Rioja and the world seen from my guardaviñas

Sharing ideas. Photos, travels, music, History, stories,...

Indrosphere

All conditioned things are impermanent

Elizabeth Beer

Yoga Life for the Determined Yogi

runsurfyogagirl031

runsurfyogagirl031

Traveling around the world

Traveling with God blessings

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

Yves-sama

You've Arrived.

Petite Girls Guide

Bipolar and Mental Illnesses are written about here. Written by a bipolar person themselves.

Darwin on the rocks and around the world

Photography and travel blog

