Estelea's Blog

French Mum, humanitarian, restless explorer and doer on sabbatical in Cebu (Philippines): one Attila in each arm, I am exploring the “toddlers safe” corners of the region, while trying to keep some room for Me.

A sweet walk down “Natsukashii” lane

nostalgieheureuse

I am in love with writers.

They fascinate me. They re the ultimate hermaphrodites, totally self sufficient in their procreation. No wonder most of them are a bit twisted, there is so much inside of them. I’ll never become one. I am too attached to my little sanity.

I admire writers because they talk to my heart, to my deep feelings, to my subconsciente. Each time I start a new book, I am always little anxious. Who knows where the ride will take me? Words can be so addicting, you don’t know where those pens got their ink from…

I spent the last days with Amelie Nothomb, engrossed in “the Happy Nostalgia’. I love her. She makes me laugh, ponder, wonder and she is pretty good at stabbing her words into my heart.. She did again today, when she taught me a beautiful Japanese word: Natshukashii

A Japanese, untranslatable word, natsukashii is a beautiful feeling defined as a state of euphoric nostalgia. It is triggered by a fond memory, which causes a yearning or missing space in your heart. It is usually an emotion modified by an object, such as your old neighborhood, an old friend, or lover. Although nostalgia is usually correlated with a sense of melancholia, natsukashii is a sweet reminiscent that warms your heart.

The word opened a beautiful all dusted trunk, filled with the perfumed hugs of Papy Gaston and Mamie Juliette. I would have loved my kids to know them. Smell their way through their little living room where bowls of hot chocolate were waiting for me and my little brothers.. The “cake de Mamie” just out of the oven, with its unique flavor of orange blossom..Her tender laugh each time  she would catch us fighting for the ultimate crumbs..

I just need to close my eyes to savor it again.

I am so grateful for the everlasting memories. Some things are eternal.

22 comments on “A sweet walk down “Natsukashii” lane

  1. listentothebabe
    June 5, 2015

    that’s a great word.

  2. LifestyleswithLia
    June 5, 2015

    Estelea, I’m reading this and a big lump forms in my throat! How poignant and beautifully written, this post today…perfectly aligned with the Daily Prompt and perfectly bringing back memories, thanks to this lovely Japanese word…
    I could almost taste the “cake de Mamie”!
    Cheers my friend and happy Friday!

  3. GreenRideBikers
    June 5, 2015

    A sweet pain of a memory so close… nice word!

    • estelea
      June 5, 2015

      Glad you like it too 🙂 so rich and precious… Plus now I have another Japanese word beside Sushi and sashimi

  4. bouaziz
    June 5, 2015

    Comme ces jolis souvenirs empreints de nostalgie,mais non de tristesse sont doux à se remémorer…..merci de faire encore et toujours exister papie Gaston et mamie Juliette au travers de de cette mémoire vive.(je vais bien dénicher cette fameuse recette!)

    • estelea
      June 5, 2015

      Avoue que son gateau a été 10000 fois copié mais jamais égalé! Et c’est presque tant mieux 😉 Xxxxx

  5. Yvette bouaziz
    June 5, 2015

    C’est vrai. MEme ce pauvre papie s’y est cassé les dents(au propre comme au figuré)xxx

  6. that traveling nurse
    June 5, 2015

    Funny how last night I also stumbled upon a foreign word, “Meraki”. It’s a Greek word that means to do something with soul, creativity and love; the essence of yourself put into your work… It just gave me that AHA moment same as this new Japanese word did to you too! 🙂

    • estelea
      June 8, 2015

      Greek vocabulary is incredibly rich. They have so many unique words to express deep emotions. Did you know they have 5 words to express love? because how can you use the same to love broccoli and love your husband?…

      • that traveling nurse
        June 8, 2015

        that indeed would be a wonderful thing! 🙂

      • estelea
        June 9, 2015

        hmm… Just inspired a future post 🙂

  7. brittabottle
    June 5, 2015

    Gorgeous, Estela. I love this post and I love this beautiful word that you’ve introduced me too. 🙂

    • estelea
      June 8, 2015

      Thanks 🙂 One of those unique moments when you discover that a word can mean so much.. Asian and greek vocabulary is so incredibly rich! have a brilliant week my dear X

      • brittabottle
        June 9, 2015

        Absolutely. Another reason to look forward to Southeast Asia. You too, Estela.

  8. Priceless Joy
    June 7, 2015

    Lovely sweet memories and a wonderful word.

    • estelea
      June 8, 2015

      Thanks Princess, so glad you liked it 🙂 Happy Monday!

      • Priceless Joy
        June 8, 2015

        Happy Monday! It is still Sunday here. 🙂

  9. LDG luciledegodoy
    June 8, 2015

    Beautiful post my dear Estelea. Your description of writers is very interesting. I wonder what They will think of it..;-)
    And this Japanese word made me think of a word in Portuguese which definition is very similar to this one you shared. In Portuguese is Saudade.
    So loved the memories of Papy and Mamie.Sweet and lovely.
    Hugs.
    xx

  10. estelea
    June 8, 2015

    I wonder too… 😉 It’s a very personal perception, those artists really fascinate me. To create life, tell vivid stories, make us cry and laugh, they have something really special, really unique. It’s not because you can write that you are a writer, the ones I have in mind seem to have no other option: for them, writing is living, it’s really like breathing.
    Great painters are like that too. I can’t believe what they can make out of a few colors. The last tribe of magicians..

    I actually meant to ask you about Saudade. Is it something positive as well? does it trigger happy memories or is it more like nostalgia?..XXX

  11. Laura Obbo
    June 8, 2015

    Beautiful!

    • estelea
      June 9, 2015

      thanks a lot 🙂 I felt in love with this beautiful word!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 5, 2015 by in Me and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Check them out, they are awesome!

Wish to Dish

Celebrating food and all the joy that comes from creating and eating it.

Motherhood Made Me Do It

Surviving kids, marriage and life with only the suggestion of sanity

giaspora.wordpress.com/

Geopolitics, Economics and Culture .... a view from the Philippine Diaspora

Yours Truly, Dimi

Inspiration. Aspirations. Exploration

Photography Journal Blog

The ramblings of a photographer who is trying to improve

Grammy Writes

and takes pictures, and travels, and...

GreenStitched

all your sustainability stories, together

Journal Edge

An online blog with highly informative, cheerful and inspirational articles for people who love travel to India with passion and make a different Lifestyle. Vikas Acharya is the founder and managing editor at Journal Edge Online Blog. Contact me to find out how I can help you create high-quality blog content, lead magnets, ebooks, and web copy for your business.

La Rioja and the world seen from my guardaviñas

Sharing ideas. Photos, travels, music, History, stories,...

Indrosphere

All conditioned things are impermanent

Elizabeth Beer

Yoga Life for the Determined Yogi

runsurfyogagirl031

runsurfyogagirl031

Traveling around the world

Traveling with God blessings

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

Yves-sama

You've Arrived.

Petite Girls Guide

Bipolar and Mental Illnesses are written about here. Written by a bipolar person themselves.

Darwin on the rocks and around the world

Photography and travel blog

