Estelea's Blog

French Mum, humanitarian, restless explorer and doer on sabbatical in Cebu (Philippines): one Attila in each arm, I am exploring the “toddlers safe” corners of the region, while trying to keep some room for Me.

Soften the edges, boost the colors here and there

pinceauxlr

Today’s prompt woke  my magic brushes up: I had the power to go back in time to an event I think could have played out differently for me. Time to let alternate history have its moment..

I recalled this road accident. What if I had decided not to take this night bus? what if I had stayed in Brazil a few more days instead of rushing it to Argentina? I would still be able to run marathons, I would have became an athlete, legs insured at the Lloyd’s, the Nike’s icon of the decade?

But I fell.

When you wake up all broken bones in a foreign country, not even remembering your name, surrounded by worried faces, you learn. You learn that you are terribly fragile, that you can break in seconds. You learn to trust people you never met before. You learn to believe in yourself and discover that you are stronger than you thought. You learn to be patient and team with your body. You learn to become thankful. You learn that it is true, “all you need is love. Love is all you need”.

Will I revisit history? not sure. This long journey made me discover my family. The patience of my mother, her stamina and her unconditional faith in my recovery. My little brother was still a kid, but he was there nonetheless, in his own ways, with his drawings and his cookies. I learnt to radically cut my crap and always chose only what really matters to Me. I’ll never be an athlete and I couldn’t care less. I hate competition anyway and I love too many things to stay focus too long on a single one 😉

36 comments on “Soften the edges, boost the colors here and there

  1. passionfortruths
    July 8, 2015

    It’s in darkness, that one appreciates d light,yes?

  2. lexklein
    July 8, 2015

    This reminds me of something my sister said recently. She said if we all put our troubles or bad past moves in a bag and could reach in and choose any others to take out instead, we would probably still choose our own mistakes or problems! Even the bad stuff is OUR stuff, and that’s what makes our lives ours.

    • estelea
      July 8, 2015

      Exactly! When I first read the prompt, I was excited by the power I would gain. Then I quickly realized that no, I wouldn’t change a thing. All the colors, bumps and smiles have shaped us the way we are now. And we are pretty awesome aren’t we ? 😉

  3. amommasview
    July 8, 2015

    Wow, powerful! Things happen for a reason, right?

    • estelea
      July 8, 2015

      I tend to think that too 🙂 I feel that this episode made me stronger at the end of the day and made me appreciate the values of every little things. I don’t feel any limits, to me being healthy and loved by the people I love most are the most important things ever. Those are the most precious blessings ever, aren’t they?

      • amommasview
        July 8, 2015

        Oh for sure. Nothing beats that!

  4. Terri Webster Schrandt
    July 8, 2015

    It is so wonderful to accept our fates. Who knows (except God) how we will end up when it is all said and done? I think we end up on the path we were meant to be on. And look at the wisdom this path has given you. thank you for sharing!

    • estelea
      July 8, 2015

      Thanks dear for your precious comments. When I think of me at this time of my life, I was so into my career and self centered. Maybe it happened for me to stop for a while, literally?.. I stopped for a while, but I saved time. In all my years in the field with the ICRC, with people who had endured much more than I ever will, I realized that it’s not the money that matters. It’s the attention, the respect. When you are/feel down, nothing can beat a big hug 🙂

  5. anroworld
    July 8, 2015

    Dear Stephanie, it’s good that you are able to talk about things bother you, you may even feel better and let your life goes on. Things happen in life and we cannot omit them or avoid, sooner or later they will catch us. I do not know but I believe that everything has a purpose, even bad things have a reason…

    • estelea
      July 8, 2015

      To me, it’s all about how you choose to apprehend things. When I was in this hospital in Brazil, I met the sweetest and funniest people ever. They helped me tremendously, with their easy and very sincere ways. I guess this episode had a very positive influence at the end of the day; It made me want to give back, hence all those years in the field with the Red Cross maybe … 🙂

  6. anotherday2paradise
    July 8, 2015

    Your post reminded me of when I fell and broke my femur many years ago. What if I hadn’t rushed back into the shopping mall to buy my mom a Mother’s Day gift? What if I hadn’t been wearing my pink shoes with the slippery soles? What if that sharp curb edge had not connected with my hip? I believe all of our life experiences add up to making us the person we are today. We can’t go back and redo, so we just have to learn and move forward. 🙂

    • estelea
      July 8, 2015

      Perfectly said ! Brilliantly put my dear 🙂 we need to move forward .. With non slippery shoes preferably !

  7. Cee Neuner
    July 8, 2015

    Such wonderful photo. Thanks for playing. 😀

    • estelea
      July 8, 2015

      Thanks a lot 🙂 I love your photo challenges, I m getting ready for the Odd …

  8. Ann GrubbsnCritters
    July 8, 2015

    You had an accident with broken bones? Sheesh! Never knew. All those kinks have made you perfect. Couldn’t find a flaw if I wanted to, woman! Ok…maybe a tad crazy and weird. Sometimes.:p Stay away from those heels and slippery shoes!! 😉 Xxx.

    • estelea
      July 9, 2015

      If I weren’t a bit tad crazy and weird, how would you have loved me in the first place? 😉 Just bought myself an awesome pair of Free Nike, no worries X

  9. Ann GrubbsnCritters
    July 8, 2015

    Love the shot of your magic brushes!

    • estelea
      July 9, 2015

      Thanks dear. I did not know which one to buy, so I clicked instead ! Now I can have them all … on a pic at least. You find pure gems in Seoul’s flea markets..XXX

  10. danihandthebaytones
    July 9, 2015

    this is beautiful! thank you for writing this 😀

    • estelea
      July 10, 2015

      Thanks a lot ! I loved your take on the daily post too.. and you wanting to be J. Steward in Life is Wonderful really made me smile, I love the idea;)

      • danihandthebaytones
        July 10, 2015

        it would be really cool to experience that!

      • estelea
        July 10, 2015

        In the course of my studies, I had to ask several people related to me in a professional or personal way to write about a time I was at my best. I had to ask 7 people and I was pretty shy in doing it, but I did as it was compulsory. You should try it some day, I can guarantee it will cheer you up. They will come with anecdotes and stories you did not even remember 😉 What a moral booster it was 😀

      • danihandthebaytones
        July 10, 2015

        cool idea, thank you! what were you studying?

      • estelea
        July 10, 2015

        It was actually a class I did on coursera called “inspiring leadership through emotional intelligence “. A great one on management .

      • danihandthebaytones
        July 10, 2015

        oh interesting! sounds like a great course!

  11. Pingback: Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge-5-Items | WoollyMuses

  12. LifestyleswithLia
    July 10, 2015

    Estelea, I read this post with my mouth wide open in shock…I had no idea about your accident and injuries…The severity of your injuries and the fact that you came out of it with even more love, faith, strength and self-discovery! You are an amazing woman! I always knew that from the words you’ve written in your blog and the photos you take…but now, after reading this post, I have even MORE admiration for you…Love is all you need, indeed!
    Sending much joy and friendship,
    *Lia

    • estelea
      July 10, 2015

      Heartfelt thanks my dear friends:) It was a long time ago, and thanks god I am all fixed now 😉 Well, I am not running marathons on roads but try me at shopping!

      The whole lesson I got is to always look up, make sure you are surrounded by positive and loving people, and go for it!

      Sometimes when I feel like complaining for nothing (I am French you know, it’s in my DNA!) I remember that I am in good health, I am surrounded with the people I love most so I have no excuse ! I am going to finish this damned cover letter today and we’ll meet up in NYC some day!!!
      Lots of love, and have a greatissimo Week end my precious friend 🙂

      • LifestyleswithLia
        July 10, 2015

        My dearest! You are SUCH a positive, loving and optimistic person and every word you write literally jumps from my computer screen with happiness!
        Yes, yes, finish your cover letter today, type that last line and send it off to the reader :-)))
        We will party/shop/eat/dance in NYC when you come…The Big Apple will never have seen the likes of us!
        Much love for a greatissimo weekend! I love this new word…
        xoxo
        *Lia

  13. Pingback: My Picks Of The Week #30 | A Momma's View

  14. lbeth1950
    July 10, 2015

    So good you don’t feel cheated. Glad you made Momma’s Views List.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 8, 2015 by in Me and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .

Check them out, they are awesome!

Wish to Dish

Celebrating food and all the joy that comes from creating and eating it.

Motherhood Made Me Do It

Surviving kids, marriage and life with only the suggestion of sanity

giaspora.wordpress.com/

Geopolitics, Economics and Culture .... a view from the Philippine Diaspora

Yours Truly, Dimi

Inspiration. Aspirations. Exploration

Photography Journal Blog

The ramblings of a photographer who is trying to improve

Grammy Writes

and takes pictures, and travels, and...

GreenStitched

all your sustainability stories, together

Journal Edge

An online blog with highly informative, cheerful and inspirational articles for people who love travel to India with passion and make a different Lifestyle. Vikas Acharya is the founder and managing editor at Journal Edge Online Blog. Contact me to find out how I can help you create high-quality blog content, lead magnets, ebooks, and web copy for your business.

La Rioja and the world seen from my guardaviñas

Sharing ideas. Photos, travels, music, History, stories,...

Indrosphere

All conditioned things are impermanent

Elizabeth Beer

Yoga Life for the Determined Yogi

runsurfyogagirl031

runsurfyogagirl031

Traveling around the world

Traveling with God blessings

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

Yves-sama

You've Arrived.

Petite Girls Guide

Bipolar and Mental Illnesses are written about here. Written by a bipolar person themselves.

Darwin on the rocks and around the world

Photography and travel blog

