Estelea's Blog

French Mum, humanitarian, restless explorer and doer on sabbatical in Cebu (Philippines): one Attila in each arm, I am exploring the “toddlers safe” corners of the region, while trying to keep some room for Me.

A time machine, please!

This time machine has been tested many many times, it is totally secure. No chance to remain stuck in the past. Just make sure you don’t touch anything and don’t talk to anyone ok? ”

All I want is to get a real glimpse of their life, listen to their conversations, look at them going through their daily routines . mumWho is this caring young mother, who is this thin man standing beside her ? I know the girl, I know her so well I won’t need to spy on her. Although the picture is more than 60 years old, my Mum still has those looks when she tries to strike a pause without smiling 😉

Of course I also recognise my beloved grand parents. But I only knew them as grand parents and always wished I could have known them “before”. On this picture, they are actually younger than me. I never knew my grand mother with dark hair. I never saw my grand Dad so well dressed. Where is her mind wandering ?  What did they like to talk about? how were they before becoming the wisest and funniest grand parents ?

Who can tell me about them better than themselves ? no prisme, no second hand testimony, no tainted version ..

Family stickers are very strong. Parents have duties and children are very demanding customers. It took me while to realise and to accept that my parents were a man and woman before being a mother and a father. And somehow they still are, with their shares of human defaults and qualities. I so wish my children will also see the woman in me, not only the mother, and love her too.

Good that the time machine has a few seats. I know my little brother and my cousins will want to squeeze in. First stop, the family house, early morning, when they all wake up..

In response to the WP Daily Prompt : Pick your Gadget

 

19 comments on “A time machine, please!

  1. Andy
    December 10, 2015

    Well, I think it it true to say your daughter takes after your side of the family …

    • estelea
      December 11, 2015

      Because she is super smart and fun, and definitely good looking ? I guess you are right …

      • Andy
        December 11, 2015

        🙂 She’s got the BEST frown. Love it!

      • estelea
        December 11, 2015

        You are so Scarily right! Now that you say it …:P

      • Andy
        December 11, 2015

        🙂

      • Andy
        December 11, 2015

        Quite sure it’s genetic. All three generations seem to have a variant of that frown, and it’s awesome. You’re a beautiful family.

      • estelea
        December 11, 2015

        Thanks dear 🙂 X

  2. Lp Johnson
    December 10, 2015

    Well stated! I enjoyed reading this!

    • estelea
      December 11, 2015

      Thanks a lot 🙂 Imagine if we could travel and witness the past with our senses, what an experience it would be. I have always been curious of the fragrances, in a town without cars .. or in Kings’ times when they had baths only once a year 😛

      • Lp Johnson
        December 11, 2015

        How ironic…I’ve always wondered too! 😉

      • estelea
        December 12, 2015

        😉

  3. anroworld
    December 10, 2015

    I wish we could do it and know our grandparents better and in the other way!

    • estelea
      December 11, 2015

      That would be fantastic. Although it might shake our foundations a little if they were not really how we thought they were 😉 I would take the risk though, I would have loved to have the chance to know how they were when they were my age…

      • anroworld
        December 11, 2015

        Dear Estelea, I nominated for award!

      • estelea
        December 15, 2015

        Oh thanks !!!

  4. Yvettebouaziz
    December 10, 2015

    Merci de m’avoir considérablement rajeunie….à l’époque j’étais encore la seule de la fratrie….fiérote!

    • estelea
      December 11, 2015

      Dire qu’apres toi ils ont recidivé 3 fois encore.. C est fou d’avoir reussi a faire poser papy pendant au moins une minute sans bouger, et toi aussi d ailleurs!

  5. estelea
    December 11, 2015

    Best ones! 🙂 We are a pretty big family, and times with my grand parents always echoed big laughs with our cousins and great food and ambient !

    • mopana
      December 11, 2015

      I am happy for you 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 10, 2015 by in Family, Me and tagged , , , , , , , .

Check them out, they are awesome!

Wish to Dish

Celebrating food and all the joy that comes from creating and eating it.

Motherhood Made Me Do It

Surviving kids, marriage and life with only the suggestion of sanity

giaspora.wordpress.com/

Geopolitics, Economics and Culture .... a view from the Philippine Diaspora

Yours Truly, Dimi

Inspiration. Aspirations. Exploration

Photography Journal Blog

The ramblings of a photographer who is trying to improve

Grammy Writes

and takes pictures, and travels, and...

GreenStitched

all your sustainability stories, together

Journal Edge

An online blog with highly informative, cheerful and inspirational articles for people who love travel to India with passion and make a different Lifestyle. Vikas Acharya is the founder and managing editor at Journal Edge Online Blog. Contact me to find out how I can help you create high-quality blog content, lead magnets, ebooks, and web copy for your business.

La Rioja and the world seen from my guardaviñas

Sharing ideas. Photos, travels, music, History, stories,...

Elizabeth Beer

Yoga Life for the Determined Yogi

runsurfyogagirl031

runsurfyogagirl031

Traveling around the world

Traveling with God blessings

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

Yves-sama

You've Arrived.

Petite Girls Guide

Bipolar and Mental Illnesses are written about here. Written by a bipolar person themselves.

Darwin on the rocks and around the world

Photography and travel blog

