Estelea's Blog

French Mum, humanitarian, restless explorer and doer on sabbatical in Cebu (Philippines): one Attila in each arm, I am exploring the “toddlers safe” corners of the region, while trying to keep some room for Me.

Parents of toddlers: Spare your energy and become Buddhist!

17 comments on “Parents of toddlers: Spare your energy and become Buddhist!

  1. anroworld
    May 30, 2016

    You are such a wisdom mom, I wish everybody could be like you! I have no children yet, but I will keep in mind your treasure advices, sure I will need them! Have a wonderful week and lot’s of inspiration!

    • estelea
      May 30, 2016

      THanks so much!
      I am sure you ll be a super wonderful Mom 🙂 Plus how lucky will your kids be to have such a great story teller just for them ! X

      • anroworld
        May 30, 2016

        Oh, such a great compliment! Thank you, let’s hope!

  2. Julie
    May 30, 2016

    No means no if a parent makes it so. Toddlers need to understand if they do not listen there will be immediate consequences– no negotiations, no second chances. This may seem harsh, but actually makes life much easier for both the toddler and the parent.

    • estelea
      May 30, 2016

      You are totally right Julie! They know I am strict but I do explain the reasons, so it tends to take time 😉
      I do agree with you with the “no negotiation” and I read quite a lot about it as it did not come very naturally to me. But I realised that the firmer I am with my “NO”, the best results I get. Especially with my son, who is the most strong willed. But both need strict boundaries and frames and I feel that it is reassuring them.

      In our days of “extreme positive parenting”, we really need to remember toddlers are .. toddlers and need to respect the decisions of their parents. Or else it we are raising future narcissistic or dictators, don’t we?

      Thanks again for your comment, much appreciated! 🙂

  3. jacquelineobyikocha
    May 31, 2016

    This is a positive post and I like it. I’m writing a story on what motherhood has taught me so far and I totally agree with you about mindfulness (because your nerves will be trampled on a lot) and that no never means no to them 🙂

    • estelea
      May 31, 2016

      Hehehehe, happy to read I am not an unique specimen! Looking forward to reading your post and chatting more here or there 🙂

      • jacquelineobyikocha
        May 31, 2016

        Yes. I like your blog. Cheery and positive vibes.

      • estelea
        June 1, 2016

        That’s the best compliment I could ever dream of, heartfelt thanks my dear ❤

      • jacquelineobyikocha
        June 1, 2016

        My pleasure Estelea 🙂

  4. Pingback: Spare (Sunset) | What's (in) the picture?

  5. amommasview
    June 1, 2016

    They definitely teach me something every day. Sometimes to simply not give up on what you want…

    • estelea
      June 1, 2016

      So true! I hope I could always be so headstrong .. imagine how rich I would be if I could negotiate my salary as well as they plead for a “just another little story”…

      • amommasview
        June 1, 2016

        Hahaha… oh yes! Or just 5 minutes more…

      • estelea
        June 1, 2016

        I can see you can totally relate 😉

  6. Andrew Seal
    June 10, 2016

    What a wonderful post Estelea and what a beautiful family. Warmed wishes 🙂

    • estelea
      June 10, 2016

      Thanks so much Andrew 🙂 All the very best to you all ! And again congrats for your “day like no other” and Cheers to many more like this one 🙂

Leave a Reply

Check them out, they are awesome!

Wish to Dish

Celebrating food and all the joy that comes from creating and eating it.

Motherhood Made Me Do It

Surviving kids, marriage and life with only the suggestion of sanity

giaspora.wordpress.com/

Geopolitics, Economics and Culture .... a view from the Philippine Diaspora

Yours Truly, Dimi

Inspiration. Aspirations. Exploration

Photography Journal Blog

The ramblings of a photographer who is trying to improve

Grammy Writes

and takes pictures, and travels, and...

GreenStitched

all your sustainability stories, together

Journal Edge

An online blog with highly informative, cheerful and inspirational articles for people who love travel to India with passion and make a different Lifestyle. Vikas Acharya is the founder and managing editor at Journal Edge Online Blog. Contact me to find out how I can help you create high-quality blog content, lead magnets, ebooks, and web copy for your business.

La Rioja and the world seen from my guardaviñas

Sharing ideas. Photos, travels, music, History, stories,...

Indrosphere

All conditioned things are impermanent

Elizabeth Beer

Yoga Life for the Determined Yogi

runsurfyogagirl031

runsurfyogagirl031

Traveling around the world

Traveling with God blessings

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

Yves-sama

You've Arrived.

Petite Girls Guide

Bipolar and Mental Illnesses are written about here. Written by a bipolar person themselves.

Darwin on the rocks and around the world

Photography and travel blog

