Estelea's Blog

French Mum, humanitarian, restless explorer and doer on sabbatical in Cebu (Philippines): one Attila in each arm, I am exploring the “toddlers safe” corners of the region, while trying to keep some room for Me.

Hugh’s WPC: Vintage

Do you remember those pre internet times? When we actually wrote with proper pens and those kind of typewriters were not SO vintage?

At the time of its launching in the early 30s, the ads read that this machine “creates a desirable atmosphere of modern-ness which is stimulating to employee and attractive to customer. Then too, exterior appearance is very often an index of built-in quality“.

vintage

How long would it take you to write your next post on this one? take your pictures and wait for them to be developed? then send it all to your wordpress editor in the big city? As much as I love vintage, I adore the 21rst century. Being expatriate on a small island in the Pacific, how long would it take me to hear from my French family if we were still living in Burrough’s time and age? once every couple of months, assuming there was no delay with the post system?

So here is my caffeinated version of the Burroughs. Beside my Mac and a great wifi signal 🙂 Cheers!

Screen Shot 2016-06-01 at 10.52.17

(in response to Hugh’s Weekly Photo Challenge on Vintage)

 

 

 

17 comments on “Hugh’s WPC: Vintage

  1. anroworld
    June 1, 2016

    I absolutely support you! There is an unhidden charm of the vintage age with long delivered hand-written messages and usual typing machines without “delete” button…it was a definitely romantic period with more personal moments (instead of screen communication), but nah, I am afraid we won’t be able to bring it back and leave our gadgets somewhere in the closet, we are too spoiled! Although, sometimes it’s possible and you feel so free…

    • estelea
      June 2, 2016

      You are so right, we have been spoilt by technology, but in return we are more anxious. We are so used to get everything right away that we are losing our patience over nothing. In those times when we sent real letters, we would not check our phones every hour for a reply in our email box 😉
      It is possible to leave a bit like before, I do really appreciate you saying so. This is what we are trying to do when in Bantayan, the network is so very poor anyway and I have put myself on a Facebook detox for a few weeks. It does me (and the rest of the family) really good to look up instead of being stuck on my phone 😉

      Cheers to vintage and to romantisme ❤

  2. Hugh's Views and News
    June 1, 2016

    I agree, just how long would it all take? I doubt many people would be patient enough to wait. One of my first jobs was selling electric typewriters. That was back in 1986 and I remember how just about everyone wanted to own one. I guess it was a bit like the home computer of today?
    Thank you for participating in my weekly photo challenge.

    • estelea
      June 2, 2016

      We are spoilt by technology, and we all tend to complain about it but ask anyone if they are ready to get rid of their cell phone for a month … Not sure the actions will match the philosophy 😉
      At least no internet for a few days is very relaxing, don’t you think?
      Thanks again for this very inspiring WPC of yours 🙂

      • Hugh's Views and News
        June 2, 2016

        I agree. I’ve just come back from a vacation where I hardly touched the internet. I had a fantastic time without it. 🙂

      • estelea
        June 3, 2016

        After all, it s a question of (healthy) habit 😉

  3. desleyjane
    June 1, 2016

    Brilliant b

    • estelea
      June 2, 2016

      Thanks dear 😉 Glad you liked it! x

  4. brittabottle
    June 1, 2016

    I was actually just thinking about this–the days before social media, etc. I’m reading a book that takes place in the 1920’s and the main character exchanges letters with a friend who lives across the country…and I couldn’t help but thinking, “man, I wish letter writing wasn’t becoming such a lost art.”

    In many ways, I’m very thankful for present day technology. Being able to keep in touch with friends and family while I was in Thailand was so important to me. It made the bad days all the more bearable and the good days all the more exciting. I wouldn’t know any of you on WordPress without technology and that’s a pretty cool thing, too.

    Still, there’s something so personal and exciting about receiving a letter in the mail and something so romantic in my millennial eyes about a world without social media.

    Also, overall I consider myself to be a very non-materialistic person…but I do want a typewriter. When I write a book one day, I want to write the whole thing on a typewriter. Not sure why. But it’s a goal I have….regardless, I still do love my laptop. 🙂

    • estelea
      June 2, 2016

      I feel just the same with pre-internet times. I have known those times (and I suddenly look like a caveman!), and back then I had a very close friend living in Hawaii when I was in France. Letters would take their time, but the excitement of receiving and writing them was so unique. The stamp, the envelop, they were like jewel boxes you know .. I don’t know how familiar you are with NYC, there is a great book I recently read called “Time and Again” where the writer travels back in time in his favorite town. How fascinating .. Of all gifts, that’s the one I d love to have!

      Like you, I love the modern technology but I tend to find it far too invasive and I am doing detox quite regularly. Now I am on a FB detox, and I have so much more time at hand, suddenly 😉 and it helps me to finally spend much more time in the present than dwelling in the past or freaking out about the future.. but that’s another topic 😉

      I like your idea of writing on a typewriter. There is something very nostalgic yet so special with it. Good luck with that, already looking forward to reading it (not on a kindle, on a real paper book!!!) X

      • brittabottle
        June 2, 2016

        Sounds so lovely! I need to start up letter writing with someone. I do love receiving letters, but haven’t sent or received one in a while.

        I’ve been trying to spend less time on Facebook, too. It’s great for keeping in touch with people, but I find that it consistently allows me to compare myself to others and fosters jealously within me. It’s not healthy and it keeps me from focusing on myself. I know that people only post the good parts of their lives on Facebook, but still–my mind still finds ways to feel crappy about myself when I spend too much time on Facebook and see other people doing cool things. Actually, I’m finding that the less time I spend on social media in general, the better I feel about myself (WordPress aside, because bloggers tend to portray their lives in more detail than the quick snapshots provided on other social media sites). I love it!

        Well,I have no intention of starting to write this book soon–but you never know! Sometime in the future. Most obtain a typewriter first. 🙂 And yes, always a paper book! I do have a Kindle because it’s useful for traveling and I do like that Kindle books are cheaper and so easily accessible at the Kindle store, but I ALWAYS prefer a real book to a paper book.

      • estelea
        June 3, 2016

        Same feeling here with FB, how weird .. I am currently reading a book on the Ego and the power of Now, and that’s how I realised how FB has been fulling my ego too much to the detriment of my spirit. I won’t leave it totally, it is such a convenient way to get in touch with all our friends and family. But a little diet won’t do me harm 😉
        I d love to be your pen pal when we ll be out of the Philippines 🙂 Letters take far too long to reach – about 1 month when sent to France, and you have to literally go to the overcrowded post office to get it sent. And there is no aircon there, at least in Cebu 😛
        I know, technology definitely spoilt me! X

  5. lexklein
    June 2, 2016

    My mom had a vintage typewriter that looked kind of like your first photo! I remember using a “modern” IBM Selectric typewriter after college and then a Wang word processor – both seemed light years ahead of the college machine that made me start a whole page all over again if I forgot a footnote or left out a sentence! How did I type my 65-page thesis on that monster?! And I do still send things by snail mail to my kids – just for the fun of seeing something in a mailbox!

    • estelea
      June 3, 2016

      I always knew you were a cool Mum, but the snail mail makes you even cooler 🙂 I still exchange post cards with my Mum from times to times, I love that.

      I saw this one in an antique market in Seoul and I was really tempted to buy it – before Mr Attila Sr reminded me my decluttering intentions ..
      Still, it is such a beautiful object, I ll need to try it once, to feel like Redford in the 3 days of the Condor 😉 – for some reason I always associate the vintage typewriters with this movie.

  6. thatssojacob
    June 5, 2016

    Fun post! Come on over and visit and leave a comment or two, it’s been awhile since I’ve seen you!

    • estelea
      June 7, 2016

      thanks ! will definitely pass by 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 1, 2016 by in challenges, expatriation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .

Check them out, they are awesome!

Wish to Dish

Celebrating food and all the joy that comes from creating and eating it.

Motherhood Made Me Do It

Surviving kids, marriage and life with only the suggestion of sanity

giaspora.wordpress.com/

Geopolitics, Economics and Culture .... a view from the Philippine Diaspora

Yours Truly, Dimi

Inspiration. Aspirations. Exploration

Photography Journal Blog

The ramblings of a photographer who is trying to improve

Grammy Writes

and takes pictures, and travels, and...

GreenStitched

all your sustainability stories, together

Journal Edge

An online blog with highly informative, cheerful and inspirational articles for people who love travel to India with passion and make a different Lifestyle. Vikas Acharya is the founder and managing editor at Journal Edge Online Blog. Contact me to find out how I can help you create high-quality blog content, lead magnets, ebooks, and web copy for your business.

La Rioja and the world seen from my guardaviñas

Sharing ideas. Photos, travels, music, History, stories,...

Indrosphere

All conditioned things are impermanent

Elizabeth Beer

Yoga Life for the Determined Yogi

runsurfyogagirl031

runsurfyogagirl031

Traveling around the world

Traveling with God blessings

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

Yves-sama

You've Arrived.

Petite Girls Guide

Bipolar and Mental Illnesses are written about here. Written by a bipolar person themselves.

Darwin on the rocks and around the world

Photography and travel blog

