Estelea's Blog

French Mum, humanitarian, restless explorer and doer on sabbatical in Cebu (Philippines): one Attila in each arm, I am exploring the “toddlers safe” corners of the region, while trying to keep some room for Me.

My Japanese antidote to Nostalgia

Natshukashii – (adj): a warm, sudden feeling of sentimentality in which small things bring back some old, euphoric memories when one remembers the goodness and the fondness of that time.

I can’t deal with nostalgia the way we French do ‘the falling leaves … drift by the window …“. It depresses me to realise how times flies, even though I am at this delusional age where I think that everyone my age looks way older than I do.

So when nostalgia knocks a bit too hard at my heart, this is what I do: I focus on how blessed I am for the beautiful times and the precious souls that have crossed my paths. I can’t confine those feelings of love in my heart, I have tried, they make me suffocate. The only way to deal with them is to let them float around and share them by being extra mindful, extra grateful.

fullsizerender

zoom in on a special drawing by Ms Attila. On top is the charm I added to one of my favorite bracelet.

Since I have become a mother myself, I am cherishing the memories of my childhood, the family gatherings in my grand parents houses with all my cousins. The laughs, the shoutings, my grand ma’ so unique cakes and the hot chocolates .. My kids love the funny stories of this “old time” when their Mum and the Uncles were their age and doing so many stupid things to drive Papi et Mamie crazy ..

Imagine how divine it would be if we could capture the essence of our most precious times in bottles? tiny little vials to open in case of “need a hug” emergency.

We are not there yet, so in the meanwhile I am dealing with my nostalgic moments the “natsukashii” way. Lucky us to have memories to cherish! Lucky us to have the chance to offer even better ones to our children.

 

14 comments on “My Japanese antidote to Nostalgia

  1. rosemawrites
    October 4, 2016

    awww. thank you for sharing with us this technique of coping with nostalgia. ❤ ❤ ❤ indeed thinking of those little blessings is one of the best cure. ❤

    • estelea
      October 5, 2016

      My pleasure 🙂 at least it works for me!

  2. Yvette Bouaziz
    October 4, 2016

    Ce que l’on nomme avec justesse:”la nostalgie heureuse”.
    Comme il doux de faire revivre ces jolis moments lorsque l’horizon nous paraît un peu gris….et je me souviens que mes enfants adoraient se plonger dans mes souvenirs.

    • estelea
      October 5, 2016

      Je crée le mythe de leur mere parfaite depuis déjà toute petite 😉 bizarrement ils croiraient davantage au père Noël …xxx

  3. lexklein
    October 4, 2016

    I’m a sucker for nostalgia, but I can’t dwell on it too long either or I get bogged down and can’t enjoy the present. (I, too, am convinced that I not only look, but act and feel and live, much younger than anyone else of my era! Ahh, the pleasures of self-delusion!)

    • estelea
      October 5, 2016

      Self delusion ? Says who ? 😳

  4. petakaplan
    October 5, 2016

    “Natshukashi” that’s lovely…. Having kids definitely triggers our own memories of particular times, stages, events. I agree your techniques of focusing on gratefulness and mindfulness are the best antidotes to “too much” sentimentality.

    Peta

    • estelea
      October 5, 2016

      Thanks dear Petra! Until we can travel back in time, the best antidote are those ones. Or /and being a great writer ! I ll stuck to the practice of mindfulness and gratitude 😉

  5. Pingback: Nostalgia: ‘Mijn Vlakke Land’ | What's (in) the picture?

  6. Pingback: Nostalgia: ‘Mijn Vlakke Land’ | What's (in) the picture?

  7. amommasview
    October 6, 2016

    Oh imagine we could actually bottle them up… how amazing would that be. But then I wonder… would we cherish those moments enough in the moment? If we can have it all the time things are not as precious anymore… kind of…

    • estelea
      October 9, 2016

      How about you can open the little bottle only once? not like a video you can play anytime anywhere .. So it would still be really precious 😉

      • amommasview
        October 9, 2016

        Sounds good… you would consider if you would like to open it in that very moment…

      • estelea
        October 9, 2016

        Exactly …

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 4, 2016 by in Family, Japan, Me and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .

Check them out, they are awesome!

Wish to Dish

Celebrating food and all the joy that comes from creating and eating it.

Motherhood Made Me Do It

Surviving kids, marriage and life with only the suggestion of sanity

giaspora.wordpress.com/

Geopolitics, Economics and Culture .... a view from the Philippine Diaspora

Yours Truly, Dimi

Inspiration. Aspirations. Exploration

Photography Journal Blog

The ramblings of a photographer who is trying to improve

Grammy Writes

and takes pictures, and travels, and...

GreenStitched

all your sustainability stories, together

Journal Edge

An online blog with highly informative, cheerful and inspirational articles for people who love travel to India with passion and make a different Lifestyle. Vikas Acharya is the founder and managing editor at Journal Edge Online Blog. Contact me to find out how I can help you create high-quality blog content, lead magnets, ebooks, and web copy for your business.

La Rioja and the world seen from my guardaviñas

Sharing ideas. Photos, travels, music, History, stories,...

Indrosphere

All conditioned things are impermanent

Elizabeth Beer

Yoga Life for the Determined Yogi

runsurfyogagirl031

runsurfyogagirl031

Traveling around the world

Traveling with God blessings

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

Yves-sama

You've Arrived.

Petite Girls Guide

Bipolar and Mental Illnesses are written about here. Written by a bipolar person themselves.

Darwin on the rocks and around the world

Photography and travel blog

