Estelea's Blog

French Mum, humanitarian, restless explorer and doer on sabbatical in Cebu (Philippines): one Attila in each arm, I am exploring the “toddlers safe” corners of the region, while trying to keep some room for Me.

Sisterhood pride

I so wish I were in a big town yesterday, in Washington, NYC, Philadelphia, Paris, Barcelona, London or Berlin, marching with all those beautiful people! Standing peacefully yet so strongly for our values and our basic rights. There was no such thing as colour, race, religion .. It was about gathering strong in the name of tolerance and respect.

img_1674

I have been scrolling Twitter for hours, feeling stronger and more empowerered each time a new town joined the march, whenever I could feel the contagious excitement and rising hopes of all the marchers .. Yes, Trump is now the president of the United States. But he’s been watched. He’s been scrutinized by the whole Free World. American sisters, you are definitely not alone. We are all standing by your sides. We are into this together!

Hilary might have lost the presidency. Yet her victory was so loud behind the signs of women power. Those are favorite pics of the march, so sassy, nasty, cute yet very determined:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I wish I could join a march yesterday but there was no such protest organised on our little Filipino island.Yet  I was in spirits with all my sisters (and brothers!) and did my share: another great discussion with my 6 year old daughter about our duties to stand strong against racism and any kind of descrimination. Even if you feel you are the only one in your group. Even if your teacher is not supporting. Stand strong. Talk to your friends, talk to other adults, we’ll make it right.

She rightly asked me why Trump is has been elected president if so many people believe he is a bad person. That costed her another talk .. It is ok to disagree with people, don’t mind the difference of opinion. It’s challenging your beliefs to hear an opinion radically different from yours. It sometimes really helps in understanding better what is at stake.

But do mind hate.

IMG_1676.JPG

I have decided not to bitch about what I hate but promote what I love instead.   It’s so much more energizing and uplifting.

img_1680

My way of raising my son!

This morning there is no “post Inauguration day hangover”. It’s all about possibilities and power of to the people, by the people, for the people. My heart is full and my hopes rekindled: diverse, grassroots, funny, inspiring, fierce, determined, nasty, historic. Yes, we can!

screen-shot-2017-01-22-at-11-07-18

 

 

4 comments on “Sisterhood pride

  1. Green Global Trek
    January 22, 2017

    Yes it has been wonderful watching the incredible powerful turnout by so many all over the U.S ( and the world.) If only many had been as activated before election day and most importantly ON election day, there would most likely have been a different result. Masses just did not take him seriously enough and were complacent in thinking that Hilary would surely win and therefore not necessary to vote. Oh well, lessons learnt and hopefully people will keep on standing up and fighting back. It is going to be a long four years!!!
    Peta

    • estelea
      January 22, 2017

      Yes it will, but those walks gave me hope and let’s not forget that Trump did not win the people’s vote! I hope the message was clearly received, the world is watching. I even saw a sign with “Melania, if you need help, blink twice” 😀

      Feels to good to see all this beautiful and peaceful energy – yes, it is going to a long 4 years but this is a marathon 😉

  2. Cee Neuner
    January 23, 2017

    I adore what you said “I have decided not to bitch about what I hate but promote what I love instead. It’s so much more energizing and uplifting.” I so agree with you.

    • estelea
      January 24, 2017

      Thanks ! Let’s try to get more friends join our club 😉

Leave a Reply

Check them out, they are awesome!

Wish to Dish

Celebrating food and all the joy that comes from creating and eating it.

Motherhood Made Me Do It

Surviving kids, marriage and life with only the suggestion of sanity

giaspora.wordpress.com/

Geopolitics, Economics and Culture .... a view from the Philippine Diaspora

Yours Truly, Dimi

Inspiration. Aspirations. Exploration

Photography Journal Blog

The ramblings of a photographer who is trying to improve

Grammy Writes

and takes pictures, and travels, and...

GreenStitched

all your sustainability stories, together

Journal Edge

An online blog with highly informative, cheerful and inspirational articles for people who love travel to India with passion and make a different Lifestyle. Vikas Acharya is the founder and managing editor at Journal Edge Online Blog. Contact me to find out how I can help you create high-quality blog content, lead magnets, ebooks, and web copy for your business.

La Rioja and the world seen from my guardaviñas

Sharing ideas. Photos, travels, music, History, stories,...

Indrosphere

All conditioned things are impermanent

Elizabeth Beer

Yoga Life for the Determined Yogi

runsurfyogagirl031

runsurfyogagirl031

Traveling around the world

Traveling with God blessings

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

Yves-sama

You've Arrived.

Petite Girls Guide

Bipolar and Mental Illnesses are written about here. Written by a bipolar person themselves.

Darwin on the rocks and around the world

Photography and travel blog

