Estelea's Blog

French Mum, humanitarian, restless explorer and doer on sabbatical in Cebu (Philippines): one Attila in each arm, I am exploring the “toddlers safe” corners of the region, while trying to keep some room for Me.

From SAHM to CEO: How I filled the 3-year gap in my resume (without any alternative fact)!

Screen Shot 2017-02-09 at 11.25.54.png

Now that I am diving into the job search again, I need an answer to THE question every recruiter will ask me: What about the last 3 years in the Philippines?

How will I ever impress a potential hiring manager? I need to come up with Something!

“Something” with numbers.

“Something” with action verbs and a track record of successes.

“Something” measurable and highly tangible.

There is nothing less sexy than the truth: I haven’t cashed a salary for years, no network, no business card and my only title is Muuuuuummyyyyy!

But where there ‘s a will, there’s a (3-step) way .

  1. List your main responsibilities

Forbes must be right “No current position is a competitive disadvantage”.

But no way I would write SAHM (Stay at Home Mum) on my resume. With 2 adorable yet super active kids, the last thing I want is to actually stay at home, for my sanity and theirs!

I didn’t stay in my comfort zone either. It didn’t take me long to reach those top notch positions:

  • Head of Human resources and Head of continual development unit (partial home schooling, yoga teacher and many other activities to create and promote fun learning and growth opportunities)
  • Head of Finance, Logistics and Procurement (husband working a few hundreds km from us)
  • Head of CSR policy of the Company (ensuring that the Group’s people-related policies and practices fully comply with existing and incoming best practices especially re: environment and economical impact of all activities).
  1. List your main skills and achievements

 I am totally ready to answer any Competency Based Interview about the qualities I (almost) perfected over the last 3 years:

  • Pragmatic, innovative and can do attitude
  • Able to happily embrace new ways of work, challenge the status quo and be constantly positive
  • A passion for customer service excellence

Main achievements:

  • Main contributor to both the operational and strategic direction of the business
  • Manages complex people relations issues
  • Develops stronger and caring partnering approaches for team planning, progression, performance and development that are empathic and respectful.

Screen Shot 2017-02-09 at 21.08.52.png

  1. Then use a job title that matches your responsibilities

We all know that job tiles are an area highly indexed within LinkedIn’s search algorithm! Chose it wisely, making sure it matches your responsibilities and achievements.

My new line for 2014-present is:

2014-present: Domestic CEO of the Attilas Company.

Fair enough, don’t you think?

Parenting is the best MBA for continuous learning. My children are relentlessly teaching me to inspire leadership through emotional intelligence. I have worked on letting go of micromanaging to keep it interesting, went back to school to become the best Chief Happiness Officer I can. And it is still work in progress .

Talk about transferrable skills! Do you think I forgot any? 🙂

5 comments on “From SAHM to CEO: How I filled the 3-year gap in my resume (without any alternative fact)!

  1. Alok Singhal
    February 9, 2017

    You are right They should understand parenting is a big job in itself…if you have managed that well (tangibly), you should be rehire-able too 🙂

    • estelea
      February 13, 2017

      Plus note the fact that we can work 24/7, talk about dedication and flexibility, don’t you think? 😉 HAve a lovely week dear!

      • Alok Singhal
        February 13, 2017

        Yes, absolutely. You too have a great week 😊

  2. Photography Journal Blog
    February 10, 2017

    Honestly, I think the longer you think about it, the more you would come up with. This is a good start though because it is focused and makes the point without rambling.

    • estelea
      February 13, 2017

      Thanks dear 🙂 Ready to roll up my sleeves and dive into Linkedin right away! Have a beautiful day and again, thanks for stopping by X

Leave a Reply

Check them out, they are awesome!

Wish to Dish

Celebrating food and all the joy that comes from creating and eating it.

Motherhood Made Me Do It

Surviving kids, marriage and life with only the suggestion of sanity

giaspora.wordpress.com/

Geopolitics, Economics and Culture .... a view from the Philippine Diaspora

Yours Truly, Dimi

Inspiration. Aspirations. Exploration

Photography Journal Blog

The ramblings of a photographer who is trying to improve

Grammy Writes

and takes pictures, and travels, and...

GreenStitched

all your sustainability stories, together

Journal Edge

An online blog with highly informative, cheerful and inspirational articles for people who love travel to India with passion and make a different Lifestyle. Vikas Acharya is the founder and managing editor at Journal Edge Online Blog. Contact me to find out how I can help you create high-quality blog content, lead magnets, ebooks, and web copy for your business.

La Rioja and the world seen from my guardaviñas

Sharing ideas. Photos, travels, music, History, stories,...

Indrosphere

All conditioned things are impermanent

Elizabeth Beer

Yoga Life for the Determined Yogi

runsurfyogagirl031

runsurfyogagirl031

Traveling around the world

Traveling with God blessings

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

Yves-sama

You've Arrived.

Petite Girls Guide

Bipolar and Mental Illnesses are written about here. Written by a bipolar person themselves.

Darwin on the rocks and around the world

Photography and travel blog

