Estelea's Blog

French Mum, humanitarian, restless explorer and doer on sabbatical in Cebu (Philippines): one Attila in each arm, I am exploring the “toddlers safe” corners of the region, while trying to keep some room for Me.

Emotional, me? The day my daughter graduated from Cambridge

We have been rehearsing for those 2 minutes religiously : Mum and Dad holding the hands of Ms Attila all the way to the stage. Stop. I put her stole around her neck. Stop. Picture. She goes to her teacher to get her certificate and brings it to us. Stop. We go back to our seats and she joines her classmates.

Simple, no?

We rehearsed. Dozen times. And the ceremonial made me laugh so hard!

17966230_10155020374041138_7698247327913302997_o (1)Until the moment.

She came from the backstage proudly wearing her white cap and gown, I just couldn’t stop crying. The more I was trying to breath, the more I was crying. It got out of control when my eyes met Maelle’s best friend’s Mum who was also totally liquid.

That’s another collateral damage of motherhood. This over sensibility and incredible capacity to rewind and fast forward: I still can grasp her baby smile, and yet I can see glimpses of her adult version (and here I am crying again). I imagine the moment she will leave the nest for an university hours away from home (now I can barely see the screen). Her little speech totally achieves the leftover of my make up. Can’t believe she was so empowered on stage in front of hundreds people !

I’ve always seen parenthood as giving roots and wings to our children. So far I have been pretty good with the roots. Probably because of our expat life, I want them to know where they come from. I am hyper family kind of Mum, and I love our traditions.

As for the wings parts.. I never thought I was working on it. But I guess supervising homework, teaching French, slowy turning my kids into little yogini, filling them with confidence and respect is also part of it ?

This day more than ever I felt extremely grateful. It gave a special sense to those 3 years out of job. Yes, I actually did something 🙂 I am so thankful for my family, by blood and by heart, all the beautiful souls we met in the Philippines.

A special Salamat to a beautiful teacher,

the kind of person that makes a difference in a kids’ scolarity. Teacher Cris was Mr Attila’s teacher last year and lucky us, she managed the senior kinder’s this year and taught Ms Attila and her dozen classmates. According to my daughter “she is super duper nice, she never scream and she always pushes me to do my best. Plus Mum teacher Cris is always sweet and caring“. I remember when my son had his infamous tantrums at school last year, Cris was the one who could calm him down and always came with encouraging words when I was so exhausted. My kids are totally different, and Cris knows well that all kids can learn, not on the same day, not in the same way. I don’t know how she can get them so excited about learning, I should have asked her a tip of two before the vacations!

18049878_10213507441627243_857465284_o.jpg

Guess who’s the one by Teacher Cris?

Thanks also to the great Chinese teachers, all the beautiful staff of Cambridge school. We chose this Singaporian school because they are not only concerned with the IQ of our kids, but also their emotional intelligence. And we can only recommend it. My shy daughter has learnt to overcome her stagefear and express herself super (too) easily. Her stubborn brother is learning to be more patient and friendly. The school invited us several times to share our skills with our kids classmates, a yoga class, a presentation of Europe and France .. We loved the bounding experience and be part of our kids’ school activities too. Last but not least, we really appreciated how family orientated they are. We could take the kids for family times during the school year, they would give us all the homework and the exchanges had always been very fruitful. Cambridge is definitely more than a school, it is part of our family.

Thanks again Teacher Cris, Jaqui, Lao Seu Linda and Cathy, Teacher Mabel and all the other ones! You are very special ❤️

14 comments on “Emotional, me? The day my daughter graduated from Cambridge

  1. connie.n.w.
    May 17, 2017

    Congratulations to your daughter and for your family! They grow up so fast!

    • estelea
      May 17, 2017

      Oh yes Connie! I can’t believe how fast .. hope we parents don’t age as fast ! Naaah, we are still young and wild . Somehow 😉 i shared your kind words with Ms Attila and she says Thanks with a huge proud smile !

      • connie.n.w.
        May 17, 2017

        You will always be youthful, friend. Your energy will keep you ageless for many years to come! I am excited for what’s next for Ms. Attila! 🙂

      • estelea
        May 18, 2017

        Oh I love that, best compliment to wake up to 😀 thanks ! Will keep you posted of course …. wishing you a beautiful day

  2. Indrajit RoyChoudhury
    May 17, 2017

    Congratulations to pretty Ms Attila and to you parents! It’s always nice to find a great teacher for the kids. A lot depends on them.

    • estelea
      May 17, 2017

      Oh yes you’re so right! I think we all remember a very special teacher – I remember your post abt your English teacher 😉 they can have such a positive impact on us, our confidence and will to learn.
      Thanks so much for your very kind words Ji !

  3. justbluedutch
    May 17, 2017

    Oh what a heartfelt post! Congratulations for this big milestone, big hugs both to you and your beautiful daughter. They are growing up so fast…While I was reading I can’t help but to think how would I felt when I would bring my daughter to Kindergarten this September–for the first time!
    You are an epitome of a wonderful Mom…Goodluck and more diplomas to come!
    Way to go Attilas!

    • estelea
      May 17, 2017

      Thanks so much my friend ❤ I really didn’t expect to be That emotional .. but waou, you ll see, it’s like all of a sudden you realise the baby has turned into a young lady! My heart was so full with unconditional love!

      Get ready for kindergarten ! I remember Ms Attila crying when I was dropping her the first weeks. Didn’t take long before she cried .. because I was picking her “too early” 😉
      Can’t wait to read abt your experience ❤

  4. Green Global Trek
    May 17, 2017

    Oh I love how very proud you look in the first photo. And your daughter is adorable. Congratulations on her achieving this milestone. Enjoy the joy! Tears are good I believe. Healthy happy tears. Wonderful!

    Peta

    • estelea
      May 18, 2017

      Oh thanks a lot 🙂 happy moment indeed, that enables me to understand my mum better 😉 kids are on holidays for 4 months. After the first one spent 24/7 with them I kinda fantasise on the day they ll start university 🤤
      Have a lovely day!

  5. Snapshotsincursive
    May 17, 2017

    Heartstrings remind us Life never stands still. Blessings! ❤️

    • estelea
      May 18, 2017

      Indeed 🙂 thanks a lot my dear, many sunny blessings back at you 🌞

  6. lexklein
    May 17, 2017

    Even after many more momentous graduations, I still remember my first child’s first preschool culmination event. I cried like a baby! They get better and better and more and more cry-worthy – just wait! 🙂
    (Next week I will attend my daughter master’s degree ceremony – maybe the last one for me? Hope I can keep it together!)

    • estelea
      May 18, 2017

      Hehehehe, can’t wait ! Waterproof mascara de rigueur !
      Congrats to your daughter, well done ! You ll be awesome even with a panda mask 😉

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 17, 2017 by in Uncategorized.

Check them out, they are awesome!

Wish to Dish

Celebrating food and all the joy that comes from creating and eating it.

Motherhood Made Me Do It

Surviving kids, marriage and life with only the suggestion of sanity

giaspora.wordpress.com/

Geopolitics, Economics and Culture .... a view from the Philippine Diaspora

Yours Truly, Dimi

Inspiration. Aspirations. Exploration

Photography Journal Blog

The ramblings of a photographer who is trying to improve

Grammy Writes

and takes pictures, and travels, and...

GreenStitched

all your sustainability stories, together

Journal Edge

An online blog with highly informative, cheerful and inspirational articles for people who love travel to India with passion and make a different Lifestyle. Vikas Acharya is the founder and managing editor at Journal Edge Online Blog. Contact me to find out how I can help you create high-quality blog content, lead magnets, ebooks, and web copy for your business.

La Rioja and the world seen from my guardaviñas

Sharing ideas. Photos, travels, music, History, stories,...

Elizabeth Beer

Yoga Life for the Determined Yogi

runsurfyogagirl031

runsurfyogagirl031

Traveling around the world

Traveling with God blessings

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

Yves-sama

You've Arrived.

Petite Girls Guide

Bipolar and Mental Illnesses are written about here. Written by a bipolar person themselves.

Darwin on the rocks and around the world

Photography and travel blog

